FLOTILLA AUSTRALIA

FLOTILLA AUSTRALIA
AUSTRALIAN SHIPPING LINES


IMAGES POSTCARDS PHOTOGRAPHS EPHEMERA

OF


Minor shipping lines and Ship owners

registered in

NEW SOUTH WALES

Ed




Thomas Adam, Newcastle A Auland, Sydney Aulco Pty Ltd, Sydney Balmain Line of Steamers J M Banks, F Bickle & J Paul, Sydney Thomas Barker, Sydney
C Barrie, Sydney T Bawden, Grafton
E Bennett, Sydney
Maurice Bern (M Bern Shipping Co), Sydney D Berry (Berry Estate ) & J Hay
John B Bingle, (Bingle & Co) Newcastle Birt & Co, Sydney D Bloxome, Twofold Bay J Booth, Sydney Benjamin Boyd, Sydney
William Spratt Boyd, Sydney J Broomfield F Buckle Snr Bernard Byrnes, Sydney James Byrnes, Parramatta
J & W Byrnes, Sydney R Byrnes, Sydney Cam & Sons, Sydney A Campbell & Partners, Sydney N & A Campbell, Sydney
Richard & Daniel Capel of the Hunter River Circular Saw Line, (H W Henderson) Sydney Clarence & New England S N Co
Sydney
Charles Clark
Newcastle
Coffs Harbour Co-operative Steam Ship Co Ltd
J Conway, Sydney B M Corrigan and Co, Sydney R G Cowlishaw, Sydney Frederick Cox, Sydney Thomas Davis, Brisbane Waters, NSW
William Dawes, Sydney 1848 George Dent Snr., Botany Bay G R Dibbs, T A Dibbs John Dobbie, Twofold Bay B & N Einerson & Others
New South Wales
A & E Ellis Ltd., Sydney
J C Ellis, Sydney G A Engel & sons, Tea
Gardens Hunter River
W Farthing J & T Fenwick H Finch & Others, Newcastle G C Forbes, Sydney 1847
Askin M Foster Stephen Foyle, Newcastle J Gaff & Co, Newcastle Grazier Steamship Ltd Grose, Joseph Hickey Thomas Hale, Bellambi
J Hay
New South Wales
H W Henderson's Circular Saw Line, Sydney Hethking Steamships Thomas Hesselton, Sydney George Hill Jnr
William Hughes, Sydney Hunter River Steam Packet Association Irwin, Sydney c 1886 C E Jeanneret, Sydney David Jones, Sydney S A Joseph, Sydney
A Kethell & Partners,
Sydney
Kiama Road Metal Co Ltd,
Sydney
A King & C McLeod E F A Knoblauch, Sydney S E Laidley, Sydney W G Laidley & Co., Sydney
R S Lamb & Co
Sydney
Langdon & Langdon William Langley, New South Wales D Little, Sydney G A Lloyd
J A Lloyd, Sydney J C Lloyd Perrett & McCulloch, New South Wales J S McFarlane, Sydney A McLean & Partners, Sydney
MacLeay Farmers Co-operative Society, New South Wales R Mailler & Partners, Sydney H J Major & Partners, Sydney Manning & MacLeay Rivers S N Co Ltd, Sydney Manning River S N Co
Edye Manning John Edye Manning S Marsden, Sydney William Marshall, Sydney Thomas Miles D S Mitchell, Sydney
J E Mitchell, Sydney James Milson & Partners, Sydney H Moore, Sydney 1848 J Morrison, Newcastle
T S Mort
Mort's Dock & Engineering Co., Balmain
Moruya S N Co
Moruya
Newcastle Co-Operative Steam Tug Ltd B B & G W Nicholl, Sydney Numba Steam Shipping Co Ltd
O'Connor, Sydney c 1886 On Chong & Co, Sydney A G Palser, Sydney Parbury, Gilchrist & Co.,
Parbury, Gilchrist & Watt
Parbury, Lamb & Co., Sydney
Parramatta River Steam Navigation Co H Perdriau, Sydney Perrett & McCulloch, New South Wales E Pike, Sydney Port Stephens Steamship Co Ltd., Sydney
George Pringle J Ritchie R M Robey H Robinson, Sydney Ross & Dowdell, Sydney
J C Rossiter & Partners. Sydney T S Rountree H Rouse, Newcastle John Russell D Salmond & P Denne
Sawmillers Shipping Co Ltd John See, Sydney D Sheehy, Sydney Shellharbour S N Co Ltd., Sydney W Short, Sydney
J H Short
C Smith, Sydney
A Sneddon
Balmain Line of Steamers
A B Spark, Sydney C J Stevens, Sydney C S Stevens, Sydney Sydney & Melbourne Steam Packet Co
Sydney
Sydney Coal Co, Sydney J Taylor, Sydney Robert Towns & Co, Sydney Tyler, Sydney c 1886 E & O Warburton, Sydney
Walker & Williamson, Sydney R B Wallace, Newcastle Waratah Tug & Salvage Co Ltd, Sydney A Wheeler Jnr, Sydney J G White, Sydney
White Steam Ship Co
J C Williamson, Sydney J T S Wilson & T Burdekin, Sydney G S Yuill & Co Ltd, Sydney



BENJAMIN BOYD
Pioneer in early shipping on the Hunter River and surrounds, including Sydney, Moreton Bay and Ipswich Queensland. Seemingly more 'lost' between business and pleasure, especially with his sailing vessel 'Wanderer' used more as a pleasure boat rather than giving essential service on the Australian coast in the fledging era. His death was as spectacular as his life, disappearing and probably eaten by cannibals on Guadalcanal in 1851 while attempting to establish a new commercial and political empire in Melanesia
Ed Ed Ed Ed
CORNUBIA
1830-53
EXPERIMENT
1832-48
SEAHORSE
1837-50
JUNO
1836-53
EXPERIMENT image courtesy State Library Queensland
CORNUBIA 160 gross tons, 94 net. Lbd: 108'3" x 17'6" x 11'4". Wooden paddle steamer built at Greenock 1830. First owners purported to be Messers Pimm, Plymouth as well as St George Steam Packet Co. First official registration stated under the name of J W Sutherland at London. Arrived at Sydney June 6th 1842 and stated as owned by Benjamin Boyd. Used as his 'private yacht' for excursions to the Hunter River until February 1846 when chartered by Edye Manning. In a commercial arena, she was employed on the Hunter River trade in opposition to the Hunter River S N Co., which resulted in a victory for Edye Manning. November 1846 chartered to the 'colonial' government at the time to take the Governor of North Australia, Colonel George Barney on a search for an appropriate site to establish a Capital for the new province. He ultimately chose Port Curtis, but that was abandoned along with the whole proposal on orders from England. Early 1847 Benjamin Boyd placed the vessel on the Hunter River service and in June that year despatched her to the Bass Strait trade out of Melbourne. Proved an unsuccessful venture and returned to Sydney January 1848. Made several runs since but was ultimately sold after December 1848 to James Paddon, Master mariner who enrolled her at Sydney February 1849 as a 2 masted schooner. Paddon's interests were based at Anatam in the New Hebrides, where she sailed to in March 1949. Paddon himself self proclaimed himself as 'Governor' of New Hebrides. Whilst used as a storeship, Cornubia was destroyed in a cyclone in 1853

CORNUBIA In February 1846 the Maitland Mercury recorded the following:

'The 'CORNUBIA' - You will be gratified to hear that the Cornubia, on her First trip to the Hunter, has performed exceedingly well. She left Kelllick's Wharf at 25 minutes to 9 on Monday night and reached Newcastle at 10 o'clock on Tuesday morning, having had to contend with a heavy cross sea and the wind right in her teeth the whole of the way, against which she must have steamed about 5 1/2 knots per hour, with a full cargo; thus proving that her qualities as a sea boat are of no very mean order. At a quarter ebb tide (thanks to the dredge) the Cornubia went swimmingly over the Flats. This promises well for her future services. In deed, on the whole, Captain Stericker, who commands her, is much pleased with her performance.
The following week:

'Our readers will be glad to learn that this steamer has made another successful trip, having arrived at Morpeth yesterday morning with a full cargo, passing over the Flats at about half tide, without touching. There proves to be abundance of cargo for her at each end; so that there is every prospect of her proving a permanent accession to our facilities for trading with Sydney'.
In March the Cornubia transported His Honor Mr. Justice Therry to the Hunter in readiness for the Quarter Sessions. Accompanying him on the steamer were the Attorney General, and barristers Messrs. Purefoy, Holroyd, and Dowling. Also on board were Mr. Blair, Clerk of Arraigns and Mr. Cornelius Prout, Under Sheriff.
By September 1846 the 'Cornubia' was trading regularly between Morpeth and Sydney, advertising passage to Sydney for one shilling. This fee was for steerage. A Cabin ticket could be purchased for 4/-. Refreshments were purchased on board at 'moderate rates'. The 'Cornubia' left from Morpeth every Wednesday and Saturday mornings and from Kellick's Wharf, Sydney every Monday and Thursday at 8pm.
Captain Taggart was Master of the Cornubia in June 1847 between Port Phillip and Launceston.
EXPERIMENT 37 gross tons. 80 tons deadweight. Lbd: 79'8" x 12'6" x 5'5". Paddle steamer built at Deptford Shipyard and launched on the Williams River New South Wales 1832 by Marshall and Lowe for Benjamin Boyd. When launched, the unusual vessel was propelled ‘by the rotary movement of four horses over paddlewheels’. This was not a success for a number of reasons which do not defy imagination. 1834 sold to Mr. Edye Manning who installed a steam engine. She worked at Parramatta from 1835. In June 1846 she was sent to Moreton Bay and was the first steamer to ply on the Brisbane River. Registered as owned by James Canning Pierce, she plied as far as Ipswich (in the Bremer River) until foundering in the river January 1848. (Sank in the Brisbane River alongside the Queen’s Wharf early in the morning, 20 January 1848. Jack Loney notes that one version of her loss says she was never raised although her engine and boiler were salvaged and installed in the steamer Hawk. Another claims she was refloated, then sold in October to be broken up. Bateson confirms the second option, and suggests she was refloated and resumed her ferry service, but was sold on 16 October 1848 and broken up)
SEAHORSE 439 gross tons, 243 net. Lbd: 156'6" x 22'8" x 13'9". Wooden paddle steamer bult by unknown at Dundee 1837. Engine of 250 hp. First known owner - St George Steam Packet Co., London. Owned by Benjamin Boyd as at June 1840 and arrived at Hobart April 1841. At Sydney June 1st 1841. Used by Benjamin Boyd for the coastal trade, namely between Sydney and Melbourne (Port Phillip Bay), as well as occassional trips to Hobart Town. Badly damaged on a rock near George Town in the Tamar River, Tasmania, in June 4th 1843. Made for Sydney arriving June 11th. Declared a wreck, as unrepairable in the 'colonies' by Boyd, insurance claimed with dispute and underwriters becoming beneficiary. Auctioned 1849. Hulked 1850
JUNO 621 gross tons, 362 net. Lbd: 159'8" x 22'8" x 16'8". Wooden addle steamer, built by Robert Duncan & Co., Greenock, Scotland, 1836. Held compounded engine = 250hp constructed by Caird & Co., Greenoch. First owner St George Steam Packet Co., London. 1841 owned by Benjamin Boyd when she set out from England, under canvas, on the 26th June 1841 and arrived Sydney March 21st 1842. Strangely, she swung on her anchor in that harbour until May 1847 when she was sent to Twofold Bay, New South Wales on a test run to try her boilers, previously unused since departing England. During 1847, G C Forbes was recorded as an owner and B Boyd again recorded as owner in June 1847. Following, in June 1847, she was chartered to the Militiary Authority in Sydney for the purpose of taking supplies to the British forces based in New Zealand. This effectively made her the first passenger vessel to traverse the Tasman Sea. As a passenger vessel, she had a spacious saloon, two staterooms, a ladies' and gentlemen's cabin each fitted out with fifteen berths, and was considered one of the best appointed vessels of her day. Recorded as being capable of 52 saloon passengers and another 200 in steerage. (Early records confound at times.) Since she was placed upon the Sydney - Adelaide service and continued that run under the August 1848 ownership of William Spratt Boyd, a relative who took over possession with the collapse of Benjamin Boyd's mini-empire. Withdrawn from the service when a 'hoped for' Government subsidy didn't materialise and in December 1848 went on a 5 day cruise from Port Adelaide to Port Lincoln, South Australia being effectively the first 'tourist' vessel in Australian waters. August 1849 owned by William Dawes. Sold at auction in October, 1849. November 1849 officially owned by H Moore. 1851 sold to the Spanish Government based in the Philippines and based at Manilla. She made a number of trips between Manilla and Sydney. Left Sydney for Manila in the Philippines on 20 October 1853 and on 22 October, was battered by a succession of heavy gales which damaged her so badly she began taking water. The rising water put out her fires and she eventually went ashore 2 km north of the Manning River entrance, New South Wales, and broke up quickly, 22 October 1853. Loss of six lives


CLARENCE & NEW ENGLAND S N Co., Sydney
Small river concern operating in northern New South Wales. 1869-83
Ed Ed Ed
HELEN MACGREGOR
1866-75
NEW ENGLAND
1859-82
PERSEVERENCE
1872-1944
No images available
HELEN MACGREGOR 168 gross tons, 115 net. Lbd: 123'7" x 20' x 9'3'. Iron steamship rigged as a two masted schooner with passenger capacity of 28. Capable of 40 horsepower. Built by T Wingate & Co., Whiteinch Glasgow for C V Robinson, registered Melbourne. Designed for the Bass Strait trade Launceston - Melbourne. May 1867 acquired by Clarence & New England S N Co. September 1867 lengthened to be 152'6" x 20'6" x 9'1" at 251 gross tons. T Fisher listed as owner from October 1867 until this concern took ownership again in September 1873. 12th March 1875 wrecked on the Clarence River bar with a loss of 8 souls
NEW ENGLAND 359 gross tons, 223 net. Lbd: 176'4" x 22'1" x 10'7". Iron steamship, 2 masts schooner rigged and 2 cylinders producing 270 horsepower. Passenger capacity of 62. Built by T Wingate & Co., Glasgow for the Clarence and New England S N Co, registered Sydney. August 1879 acquired by Clarence & Richmond Rivers Steam Nav Co. 27th December 1882 wrecked upon the Clarence River bar with a loss of eleven souls
PERSEVERENCE 95 gross tons. Lbd: 120' x 22'3" x 4'3". Iron side paddle steamship, single mast as built at Mort's Dock & Engineering Co., Balmain Sydney for the Clarence & New England S.N. Co, Sydney. Sold August 1879 to Nipper and See. January 1884 owned by John See. 1891 transferred over to the North Coast S N Co., Sydney. Struck from the register 1944 as 'not required'


CLARENCE & NEW ENGLAND S N Co., Sydney
Small river concern operating in northern New South Wales. 1869-83
Ed Ed Ed
SETTLERS FRIEND
1866-1908
SUSANNAH CUTHBERT
1864-75
THE CLARENCE
1875-1910
................ image courtesy ..................
SETTLERS FRIEND 50 gross tons, 31 net. Lbd: 84'6" x 13'4" x 5'6". ON52389. Wooden hulled, stern wheel paddle steamship of 12 horsepower and single mast, built by E G Chowne, Grafton for H J Major & Partners, Sydney. April 1867 owned by Clarence & New England S N Co Ltd. 1869 owned by Thomas Bawden, Grafton. January 1878 owned by George Harris, registered Brisbane. March 1879 owned by John Ritchie, Sydney. March 1882 acquired by John See. December 1891 transferred over to North Coast S N Co. Register closed during 1908 as 'abandoned'. Spent most of her NSW career upon the Clarence River
SUSANNAH CUTHBERT 194 gross tons, 123 net. Lbd: 131'6" x 18'8" x 10'. Wooden steamship of 50 horsepower, rigged as a 3 masted schooner. Built Sydney for J Cuthbert and sold to this concern in April 1865. As a passenger vessel holding steerage only accomodation, she was given a new deckhouse to billet first class voyagers in 1865. Her dimensions then read 194 gross and 161 net tons. Worked the Northern New South Wales river trades until sold in March 1874 to J Frazer (loosely the New Wallsend Coal Co) Sydney July 7th 1875 she was wrecked on Long Reef, near Manly Sydney
THE CLARENCE 603 ton three masted steamer. In 1875 the shipbuilding firm of T. Wingate and Company started construction of a vessel that was to be named Marquis of Lorne. However, before she was finished she was renamed the Victory but purchased by the CNESNC and completed as The Clarence. In 1883 CNESNC went broke and in March of the same year Clarence was sold to the A.U.S.N. Co and renamed Currajong. Laid up in 1887, sold to Mitchell and Woolcott-Waley in 1888 and converted to a collier. 1893 sold to the Bellambi Coal Company. Tuesday 8 March 1910 Sydney Harbour N.S.W. collided with the Wyreema and sank with loss of one life


COFFS HARBOUR
Co-operative Steam Ship Co Ltd
SHOALHAVEN Steam Ship Co Ltd
Ed
BELBOWRIE
1911-39
image (P10647) courtesy
Wollongong City Library
BELBOWRIE 218 gross tons. Lbd: 123'2" x 29' x 8'3". (37 metres long) Wooden twin screw steamship built at the yards of R. Davis at Blackwall, Woy Woy, Brisbane Water on the New South Wales Central Coast. Completed under the management of W. Davis and J. Cameron. Built for J. Weston, the vessel was powered by two 2 cylinder steam engines manufactured by Mort's Dock and Engineering Co Ltd, Balmain. Sold 1914 to Coastal Shipping Co-operative Co Ltd., Sydney. Sold 1915 to the Coffs Harbour Co-operative Steam Ship Co Ltd. In 1918 the Belbowrie's list of owners grew when she was purchased by Bell and Frazer Ltd and in the early 1920s ownership changed again to Kirsten and Earnshaw Ltd (New Zealand interests that perhaps didn't finalise the purchase) Sold again in 1923 or 24 to Shoalhaven Steam Ship Co Ltd. In 1928 she was again sold to A. Auland and about 1932 onto Aulco Pty Ltd of Bond Street, Sydney. The Register of Australian and New Zealand Shipping of 1937 gives the owner again as A. Auland (presumably associated with Aulco P/L). Wrecked on rocks at Green Point, South Maroubra, NSW, near the Long Bay rifle range, 16 January 1939. The lifeboat was smashed, but a lifebelt was floated ashore over the reef, then securely held, while the ten crew made their way to safety hand over hand although the fireman was injured when leaving the wreck


G A Engel & sons of Tea Gardens, Hunter River, New South Wales Kiama Road Metal Co Ltd., Sydney
Ed Ed Ed Ed
NEPEAN
1900-
COWEAMBAH
1919-45
KIAMA
1902-38
CIVILITY
1872-1918
KIAMA image (P07408) & CIVILITY (P09420) image courtesy Wollongong City Library.Note: Civility in the foreground with the Resolute ahead of her
NEPEANBuilt 1900 at Penrith, New South Wales. Steamship, 56 feet long. Owner - G A Engel & sons of Tea Gardens
COWEAMBAH 76 gross tons. on#128790 Built 1919 wooden hulled steamship as owned by G A Engel & sons of Tea Gardens, Hunter River, New South Wales. Registered Newcastle January 1920. Requisitioned by the Australian Government 11 sept 1942 for the US army small fleet. Lost at Trial Bay, 11 June 1945
KIAMA 358 gross tons. Lb: 140'4" x 26'2". Cargo vessel, Cargo ship built by Mackie & Thomson Govan, Glasgow. Propulsion: steam compound 52nhp 560ihp Engines by McKie & Baxter, Govan. 10 knots. Owned by the Kiama Road Metal Co Ltd, Sydney New South Wales. Employed in the carriage of blue metal to Sydney. 1911 Company and holdings taken over by the New South Wales State Government. Continued in that role until 1932 when purchased by Bellambi Coal Co Ltd, Sydney and employed in the transport of coal. 1938 hulked, given the ignoble name of C597A. Finally scrapped 1960 in Sydney
CIVILITY 248 gross tons, 169 net. Lbd: 132' x 25'5" x 10'7". Wooden steamship built by Rock Davis at Brisbane Water, New South Wales for W Short, Sydney. Held a 2 cylinder engine producing 40 horsepower. Commenced her career as a passenger-cargo vessel trading between Sydney and Noumea. Owned by J H Short from April 1877. Sold March 1881 to George Hill Jnr who placed her upon the 'blue metal' trade from Kiama and relevant south coast ports to Sydney. Believed not to carry passengers from this time. 1890 owned by D Salmond & P Denne. January 1899 owned by Kiama Road Metal Co Ltd., Sydney. September 1907 owned by A King & C McLeod. Register closed 1918 with 'Broken up at Brisbane'


D BERRY (Berry Estate NSW) & J HAY
Ed Ed Ed
MEEINDERRY
1883-1922
COOMONDERRY
1886-1969
BRINAWARR
1890-1918
MEEINDERRY image courtesy State Library South Australia
COOMONDERRY image (d1_25040) courtesy of State Library New South Wales
BRINAWARR image courtesy State Library Victoria
MEEINDERRY 217 gross tons, 111 net. Lbd: 120'2" x 20'1" x 8'7". (36.62x6.28m) Steel single screw passenger-cargo vessel rigged initially as a 3 masted schooner and built Rutherglen Glasgow by T B Sheath & Co. Imported by the Berry Estate, J. Hay (1883); D. Berry (1884-86), New South Wales. July 1892 acquired by Anton Schlink and registered at Port Adelaide. July 1895 owned by Huddart Parker Ltd., Melbourne for Tasmanian and Victorian port trades. August 1919 sold to R.W. Miller & Co. Lost after collision with the collier Wallsend off Wanderers Reef, Newcastle New South Wales 1922. Wreck was sold to that state government who had her dismantled
COOMONDERRY 146 gross tons. Lbd: 110'2" x 20'1" x 7'6". Steel steamship built by T B Seath & Co., Rutherglen England for the Berry Estate. J Hay was manager of that estate. Passenger - cargo vessel of 37 horsepower. November 1898 owned by the Moruya S N Co. June 1904 owned by R Anderson & Allen Taylor. November 1905 bought by Illawarra & South Coast S N Co. Serviced the southern New South Wales ports to Sydney. Sold 1915 to Melbourne owners and converted into an auxilliary 3 masted motor vessel. Finally wrecked 1969 at Fiji
BRINAWARR 119 gross tons, 73 net. Lbd: 91'2" x 18'4" x 7'5". Wooden steamship built by J Hawken Snr, of Coolangatta, at Shoalhaven New South Wales. (Strange that Coolangatta Queensland on the Tweed River, border of New South Wales and Shoalhaven, well south of that locale are stated as the construction site. Could well be constructed on the Tweed River, Coolangatta and serviced the Shoalhaven district for J Hay, with registry at Sydney.) How J Hay employed this vessel is unknown however her dimensions 'state' river work only. October 1893 acquired by the Adelaide Steamship Co and employed as a tender on the Pioneer River, Mackay, Queensland. Sank when span of a bridge collapsed on her during a Cyclone in January 1918. Not salvaged


GROSE, JOSEPH HICKEY (1788?-1849)
Merchant and steamship owner, was baptized at Deptford, London, on 17 August 1788, son of Howell William Grose and his wife Sarah. He was referred to as 'a shopkeeping clerk of McArthur's' in 1821, but he had many mercantile interests. Advertising himself as a storekeeper, auctioneer and estate agent at George Street, Parramatta, he tendered successfully as a supplier of wheat to the government stores in 1822, won the Agricultural Society's prize for beer in 1824 and sold yeast for the prisoners' barracks at Parramatta. He owned a large grazing property in Argyle County and other land at Seven Hills. In 1830, hearing of the success of steam-propelled vessels overseas, he commissioned two Scottish shipwrights, Lowe and Marshall, to build a paddle-steamer for the Sydney-Hunter River trade. The ship, William the Fourth (the 'Billy'), was launched at the Deptford yards, Clarence Town, on the Williams River, on 22 October 1831, the first coastal steamer wholly built in Australia. Afterwards he bought the 153-ton paddle-steamer Sophia Jane, imported from England in May 1831, and held the main share of the Hunter River steamer trade for many years, his vessels travelling between his wharf and store at Morpeth and his wharf in Sydney. He became an original director of the Commercial Banking Co. of Sydney in 1834 but continued to enlarge his fleet by importing the 141-ton paddle-steamer James Watt from England in 1837, and the fast steamer King William the Fourth in 1838. In the late 1830s, when droughts reduced his flocks in Argyle County and he was confronted with opposition in the steamship trade by the formation of the Hunter River Steam Navigation Co., he became interested in the development of the Clarence River valley, sending 8000 sheep to his station there in 1839, and making the King William the Fourth available to the deputy surveyor general, S. A. Perry, and a group of pastoralists for a tour of inspection in May. When the steamer was wrecked a few months later he salvaged her engines and built the 119-ton paddle-steamer Sovereign in 1841, but because of the collapse of the Victoria Mills, entailing a loss of £5000, and the general financial depression in the colony he became insolvent in 1844. He died on 18 April 1849 at Lake Bathurst. He had married three times: Mary Ann Deaton (d.1824) on 13 May 1822; Irene Deaton on 2 November 1829; and Elizabeth Slater on 30 May 1840. A son of his second marriage, and his third wife, their son and two daughters survived him.

Ed Ed Ed Ed Ed
WILLIAM THE FOURTH
1831-68
SOPHIA JANE
1826-45
JAMES WATT
c1824-47
KING WILLIAM the FOURTH
1830-39
SOVEREIGN
1841-47
WILLIAM the FOURTH (180791p) image & JAMES WATT (69925p) courtesy State Library Queensland
WILLIAM THE FOURTH 54 tons. Lbd: 74' x 15'6" x 7'. Wooden paddle steamer, 2 masts built by Marshall & Lowe on the Williams River at Clarencetown New South Wales. Of passenger capacity. Engine manufactured by Fawcett of Liverpool England. First owner J H Grose of Sydney. Was the first ocean going steamship built in Australia in 1831. June 1839 owned by Brisbane Water Steam Packet Co. September 1839 of General Steam Navigation Co. 1842 of Edye Manning & others. November 1843 of James Byrnes, Parramatta. February 1844 of John Dobbie & D Bloxome (possibly trustees of for the Twofold Bay Pastoral Co). October 1850 of William M Manning & A B Spark. 1853 lengthened to be 77 tons and Lbd: 86' x 14'8" x 8'2". 1857 of the Grafton Steam Navigation Co. June 1858 (supposedly) owned outright by W M & Edye Manning. February 1860 of the Illawarra Steam Navigation Co. 1863 saw sent sent abroad to China where she was puchased in 1864, and operated by A Ellissen & Co., on the Shanghai - Ningpo route. Laid up towards end of December 1868 she was despatched to Japan. Records end
SOPHIA JANE 256 gross tons, 153 net. Lbd: 120'3" x 20'1" x 10'3". Wooden paddle steamship built 1826 by Barnes & Miller at Rotherhithe, as supervised by English shipbuilder named Evans. Side lever making 50 horsepower. Built as a Gravesend, England steam packet vessel for unknown owners and acquired by Edward Biddulph & syndicate 1830. Sailed to the Australian colonies with a view to sell, arriving at Sydney Town 13th May 1831. She travelled under sail yet holds the distinction of being the first 'steamship' to arrive upon Australian shores. Her paddle wheels were fitted and she commenced trade in the Hunter River, New South Wales. E Biddulph was unable to sell her outright and instead sold shares to local residents. November 1833 J H Grose purchased all the shares and entered into a business partnership with Thomas Street. Records state this vessel as registered at Sydney 1838 with J H Grose again having full ownership in December 1838. July 1839 owned by J T Wilson who fled the colonies in October 1839 leaving angry creditors and a financial mess. Purchased by General S N Co., Sydney October 1940 who ran her as a regular on the Illawarra trade. November 1842 owned by Thomas Barker. 1843 owned by Edye Manning & Partners. Demolished with register officially closed 1845
JAMES WATT 141 tons. Lbd: 125'3" x 19' x 11'7". Wooden paddle steamer built 1824 by Humble and Henry at Liverpool. Several unknown owners until 1836 when enrolled merely as 456 of 456 entries at London, by a T Street of Sydneytown. 1836 again registered Sydney as James Watt for Grose and Street. 1837 owned by J H Grose outright. Along with the Sovereign, sold to this concern as HRSN Co., October 1842. She was the first steamer to arrive at Moreton Bay Queensland. 1845 HRSN Co planned to transfer engines to a new steamer and make the James Watt a coal carrier. 1947 engines removed and hull dismantled. She was a passneger cargo vessel most of her working days in Australia
KING WILLIAM THE FOURTH 103 o.m, 81 n.m. Two-masted schooner-rigged wooden paddle-steamer built by 'unknown' at Blackwall London. Engine = 70 horsepower. First owners unknown since built 1830 and owned by J H Grose, Sydney December 1837.Arrived Sydney 20 January 1838 and placed upon the Sydney - Hunter River trade. Found to be too 'light' for the harder seas that sometimes prevailed however was sent on an exploratory journey to the 'big river' north that is known toady as the Clarence River. Wrecked June 2 1839 in stormy weather after going ashore under canvas on a return journey, with passengers, from the Hunter River. Earlier in the storm she lost her funnel however at the Newcastle, New South Wales entrance where she was blown ashore, she lost none of her 76 compliment passengers owing to a lifeline taken out to the wreck by the Harbourmaster, Mr G W Jackson. The engine was salvaged and placed in the steamer 'Sovereign
SOVEREIGN 119 tons. Lbd: 111'2" x 17'8" x 9'5". Two-masted schooner-rigged wooden paddle-steamer built by Chowne and Thompson at Pyrmont, Sydney 1841. Was fitted with 2 cylinder 35 hp engine salvaged from the wrecked paddle steamer King William IV, after the latter was lost in July 1839. Owned by J H Grose as registered in Sydney and (along with the James Watt) sold to Trustees of R Scott and others (HRSN Co), October 1842. Transferred to this concern as HRSN Co., August 1846. From Brisbane to Sydney, wrecked in a fierce south easterly on the bar of the South Channel of Moreton Bay, Queensland, whilst steaming from Brisbane to Sydney, 11th March 1847. Forty-four lives lost, only ten survived, including the captain


HETHKING STEAMSHIPS
originally traded as Hetherington Kingsbury Ltd formed 1951. Sister Company - McArthur Shipping & Agency Company Pty. Limited
Modern day act as shipping agents under the banner Hetherington Kingsbury Shipping Agents based at Ultimo Sydney
Ed Ed Ed Ed Ed
BONALBO
1925-57
VIRIA
1948-90
COBARGO (1)
1929-61
COBARGO (11)
1937-77
COBARGO (111)
1956-86
COBARGO (1) image (02219rf) courtesy of State Library New South Wales
COBARGO (11) image as the Kopua
COBARGO (111) as Kumalla image (P07424) courtesy Wollongong City Library
BONALBO 602 gross tons, 328 net. Lbd: 167' x 28'6" x 15'6". Steel steamship built by Lithgows, Port Glasgow for the North Coast S N Co., Sydney. Passenger-cargo vessel of 121 horsepower. Sold to Patson Ltd (Sydney) in 1954/5, followed by Hetherington & Kingsbury Ltd, and finally a company in Hong Kong in 1957 and renamed Leewana. Records end
VIRIA 960 gross tons. Lbd: 205' x 34'6" x 12'. Steel steamship built by Kalmar Varv, Sweden for unknown owners. 2 stroke cycle single acting 8 cylinders 800 bhp. Delivered to New Guinea Industries Co. Ltd., Port Moresby in 1951-2 although the Australian Register of British Ships has them as owners from 1950. Sold to Hethking (Hetherington Kingsbury) April 30, 1957. Sold to Madrigal Shipping Co Inc., Manila, September 2, 1965. Incident of 20th November 1967 where she was refloated....details unknown. Last entry in Lloyds Register, 1989/90. Kept original name throughout her service career
COBARGO (1) 860 gross tons. 190 feet length. (58.0 x 10.5 metres) Steel twin screw steamship built by Ailsa Shipbuilding Co., Troon as a refrigerated cargo vessel for the Illawarra & South Coast S N Co. Triple expansion engine making 10.5 knots. Was last ship built for the Illawarra & South Coast S N Co., Sold 1951 to Allen Taylor & Co. Then to Lumbar Operators Pty Ltd. Sold to Hetherington Kingsbury and used in the North coast sugar trade. Sold 1960 to Jamsons Shipping Co., renamed Jamsons. Sold again in 1960 to H & S Credits Hong Kong and renamed Sucrosse. Scrapping began at Hong Kong 20th July 1961
COBARGO (11) 1,529 tons. Lb: 74.0 x 13.7 metres. Built in 1937 by Henry Robb, Scotland as Port Tauranga owned by Capt A F Watchlin, Auckland. In December 1947 Union Company acquired the remaining interest in the shipping company owned by Watchlin.One of these, Port Tauranga, was the specialist timber carrier specialising in the transport of Australian hardwood power poles and wharf piles to New Zealand. At the time her 30 metre long hatch was the longest recorded by Lloyds Register. Union Company renamed her Kopua although their original intention was to name her Kama. Instead, in 1948 renamed Kopua, 1960 sold to Hethking Steamships, Sydney, renamed Cobargo. Sold to Samoan owners (United SS) and renamed Samoan Bay in 1973. Sold to Fui-Yong Wood and renamed Universal Dallas in 1974. Recorded as 'broken up in the Far-East" 1977
COBARGO (111) 1,865 tons. Lb: 76.9 x 13.9 metres. Steel single screw cargo vessel built by Robb at Leith as the Kumalla for the Union Steamship Co of New Zealand and registered at Melbourne Australia. August 1972 purchased by Hetherington Kingsbury and renamed Cobargo and given Sydney registry. Sold, renamed Jihad in 1978 and sold again in 1979 to South Sea Freighters Ltd of Port Vila (Willam M & Keith M.Trueman) who renamed her Bismarck Sea. Was active out of Singapore 1981 when sold that year to Carthago Nav Co Ltd and renamed Avondale with Panama registry. 1982 under ownership of Segment Holdings Ltd with registry at Nukualofa, Tonga, ship's name retained. Scrapped Kaohsiung commencing 18 March 1986 by Chia Fu Steel Enterprises


.......................... E PIKE, Sydney Hunter River Steam Packet Association E Bennett, Sydney
Ed Ed Ed Ed Ed


ILMA
1885-1937
CERES
1836-36
CORSAIR
1827-50
No images available
ILMA 345 tons. Built 1885 1911 purchased by Union SS Co from E Pike, Sydney, 1937 scuttled. hulked Auckland 1919 & scuttled Cook Strait 11.2.37 Was actually a 'schooner'
CERES Gross tonnage unknown, approx 250 net tons. Lb: 134' x 38'. Wooden paddle steamer, 80 hp engine. Built for the Hunter River Steam Packet Association by Marshall and Lowe, Williams River Clarencetown. Launched April 1835. Her first voyage occured about March 1st 1836, with passengers from Sydney (where her engine was installed) to the Hunter River. Wrecked 5 months later off Norah Head. The loss this concern's only vessel effectively liquidated the Company
CORSAIR 185 tons burthen. Lbd: 135'11" x 20' x 12'5". Wooden paddleship built by J Wood & James Barclay, Port Glasgow for George Langtry, Belfast Ireland. Held 2 cylinder engine = 150 hp. Side lever paddle. 1837 owned by Dundalk Steam Packet Co. 1838 of the Newry Steam Packet Co. Whittington & Co of London on the 10th October 1840 sent this vessel to Australia with the proposed view of creating an intercolonial (Australia) steamship concern to be named 'South Australia, Australia Felix & Van Diemans Land Steam Navigation Co'. This company never came into existence and after arriving at port of Adelaide 3rd March 1841, it was announced the Corsair was to steam between Adelaide, Melbourne and Launceston. That service also never eventuated and she remained laid up at Adelaide until chartered by the Port Phillip Steam Navigation Co, Melbourne in October 1841. She was placed on the Bass Strait service between Melbourne and Launceston. August 1842 placed on the Melbourne - Geelong trade. 1843 sold to E Bennett and registered at Sydney. November 1844 owned by Thomas Larkins, London. December 1845 departed Australian shores for Hong Kong and registered at Hong Kong by William Biggs & others, of Hong Kong. No trace of her after 1850


Port Jackson Steam Boat Co Ltd, registered Sydney (T Hesselton founder)
1898 - Port Jackson Steam Ship Co, Ltd, Sydney
Thomas Hesselton, Sydney
Ed Ed Ed Ed Ed
GLENELG
1875-1900
GOOLWA
1864-1919
COMMODORE
1873-1931
.......
.......
GLENELG image (a23991) courtesy State Library Victoria
GLENELG 218 gross tons, 558 net. Lbd: 135'8" x 21'1" x 11'3". Iron twin screw steamship built by Aitken & Mansel, Glasgow for Thomas Elder & Robert B Smith, registered Port Adelaide. Twin compounded engines producing 80 horsepower. Held distinction of being the first 'southbound' ship to pass through the new Suez Canal on May 24th, 1875. Designed more as a tug - passenger tender vessel with cargo capacity, she worked out of Port Adelaide. Later worked the St Vincents Gulf. 1880 tonnage adjusted to read 210 gross and 76 net. Sold July 1881 to William Wells. Sold April 1882 to Thomas Hesselton, Sydney under whom she made a run to New Zealand for a cargo of salvaged railway equipment. Sold July 1882 to the Port Jackson Steamship Co Ltd., Sydney and employed as a Manly ferry. From January until end of March she was chartered to W Collins, Brisbane and placed upon the Brisbane - Bundaberg run. November 1891 sold to E T Miles & Partners, Hobart and placed upon the Hobart - Strahan run, at times extending from Strahan to Melbourne. At some stage she was sold to T A Reynolds or Reynolds was the active 'signature' partner of E T Miles when sold September 1896 to the Union SS Co, New Zealand, along with with T A Reynolds, Hobart fleet. Continued her Tasmanian services under her new owners until 1898 when sold to A J Ellerker, Melbourne. Here she was placed upon the Gippsland Lakes service - Melbourne. March 25th 1900 foundered and sank in Bass Strait, approximately 40 miles west of Lakes Entrance, Victoria en route for Melbourne. A loss of 31 souls, including all passengers, with only three survivors
GOOLWA 191 gross tons, 116 net. Lbd: 130' x 21'1" x 10'3". Iron hulled tug- paddle steamship built by Palmer Bros at Jarrow-on-Tyne England. Held 2 cylinder steam engine built by J Thompson & Co, Newcastle-On-Tyne. Also rigged as a 2 masted brig, (one mast later removed). ON 48675. Owner recorded as F Levi, registered London, may have been the South Australian connection of Levi's Wharf at Port Adelaide. May 1867 owned by J W Smith & T Hesselton, vessel registered Port Adelaide. August 1870 under sole ownership of T Hesselton, registered Sydney, having arrived 29 July from Adelaide. She was employed mainly as a tug but held certificate to carry 600 excursionists/ferry passengers. Found unsuitable and in January 1874 registered Newcastle NSW under ownership of H Finch & Others. January 1876 owned by Newcastle Co-Operative Steam Tug Co Ltd. June 1878 owned by John Brown of J & A Brown. June 1905 owned by J O'Connor, here it presumed she was demolished or stripped of her fittings. Circa 1919 sank at her moorings, raised and ran aground at a bank near Hexham where traces of her can still be found
COMMODORE 187 gross tons, 84 net. Lbd: 120'9" x 20'7" x 10'3". Iron Paddle steamer/Excursion vessel/Tug, schooner rigged 3 masts, twin funnels, abreast (later reduced to one) as built by J T Ettrickham, South Shields. Two side lever paddles, surface condensing engine of 95 horsepower. Engine also built by J P Rennoldson, South Shields. ON 74986. Arrived Sydney under sail after an 88 day voyage for owners Port Jackson Steam Boat Co Ltd, registered Sydney (T Hesselton founder). Employed mainly as a ferry. September 1881 owners Port Jackson Steam Ship Co, Ltd, registered Sydney. September 1898 owned by J & A Brown and employed mainly on towage services in Sydney and Newcastle. Late 1920's withdrawn from active service. Records state 'hulk' scuttled off Newcastle at 12.30 pm, September 8th, 1931. Reputedly the last active steam paddle tug working on Australian waters


R S LAMB & Co, Sydney
('Co' as J J Craig)
Ed Ed Ed Ed Ed
AWAROA
1904-25
GABRIELLA
1920-59
INGA
1904-45
KALINGO
1927-43
OMANA
1915-59
AWAROA image (b42344) courtesy State Library Victoria
GABRIELLA (a637511r), INGA (a637801r) & OMANA (a638825r) images courtesy State Library New South Wales
KALINGO image (303471) courtesy Australian War Memorial
AWAROA 344 gross tons, 211 net. Lbd: 139' x 25'4" x 12'3". Wooden steamship built by Morrison & Sinclair, Balmain Sydney for R S Lamb of Sydney. 1905 owned by the Northern Union Steam Boat Co Ltd., Auckland New Zealand. 1907 owned by Kaipara Steamship Co Ltd. 1911 of the Wellington Harbour Ferries Limited. 1914 owned by L Wilson. 1915 owned by William Holyman & Sons Ltd., Melbourne. 1919 refitted with tonnage increased to 352 gross and 150 net. Sprang a leak when about twelve nautical miles south of Cape Liptrap, Victoria, and abandoned, 25th July 1925
GABRIELLA 1,587 tons. Lb: 76.2 x 11.8 metres. Steel cargo vessel built by Antwerp Engineering, Hoboken 1920 for G.Vandesompel under Belgian flag. Single screw triple expansion engine making 9 knots. Records reveal this vessel under ownership of R S Lamb traded out of Coffs Harbour New South Wales from 5 December 1928 until 1938. One can presume her duties included the carriage of timbers south to Sydney. Further records state 1930 taken over by Union Steamship Co., New Zealand with takeover of R S Lamb & Co., Sydney. 1951-52 sold to E J Chandris, Piraeus, renamed Dora Chandris. 1955 sold to D N Mitropoullos and renamed Capetan Costas Scrapped Piraeus October 1959
INGA 948 gross tons. Lb: 65.6 x 9.6 metres. Steel single screw cargo vessel built by Vuijk at Capelle a/d Ijssel Holland for A/S D/S Inga (Meier), Kristiania, Norway. Triple expansion engine. Chartered in 1907 and then purchased by J J Craig of New Zealand and his Australian partner R Lamb in May of 1910, operating her through the Inga Steamship Company Pty Ltd of Sydney. 1926 sold, after 155 round voyages in intercolonial trade, to James Patrick and Company of Sydney, who employed her in the Melbourne trade. December 1927 sold to W R Carpenter & Co Ltd who used her largely in the Pacific Islands trade. 1930 sold to Madrigal & Company of Manila, renaming her Cetus. December 1941 scuttled off the Philippines Islands. Raised by the Japanese who renamed her Hokuhi Maru. Sunk in an air attack in Formosa Strait (23.35N/119.35E ) 2 March 1945
KALINGO 2,047 tons. Lb: 86.3 x 13.1 metres. Steel single screw cargo vessel built by Clyde Shipbuilding, Port Glasgow for R S Lamb & Co., Sydney. Triple expansion engine making 9 knots. 1930 of the Union Steamship Co., New Zealand with takeover of R S Lamb & Co. 18th January 1943 torpedoed and sunk by Japanese submarine off Sydney (34.07S/153.15E )
OMANA 2523 gross tons. Lb: 92.4 x 14.1 metres. Steel steamship, cargo as built by Osbourne Graham, North Hylton for Omana S S Pty Co Ltd (R.S.Lamb), Sydney . Single screw, triple expansion engine making 9 knots. Chartered by BHP Shipping for single voyage 19 - 21st July 1917. 1930 taken over by Union Steamship Co., New Zealand with takeover of R.S. Lamb & Co. 1951 sold to E J Chandris and renamed Youla Chandris. 1953 sold to E A Karavias renamed Tassos. Scrapped at Perama July 1959


Numba Steam Shipping Co Ltd MacLeay Farmers Co-Op Society ..................... .....................
Ed Ed Ed Ed
HILLMEADS
1907-57
TAMBAN
1914-36
.........
........
TAMBAN (04301r) image courtesy of State Library New South Wales
HILLMEADS 206 gross tons, 84 net. Lbd:126'4" x 27'5" x 9'2". Wooden twin screw steamship 2 compounded engines producing 28 nhp. Built as a passenger-cargo vessel by E Pritchard at Jervis Bay New South Wales for the Numba Steam Shipping Co Ltd. Worked the trade from Sydney to Moruya, Bawleys Head and and Batemans Bay carrying passengers and timber. Sold 15th October 1908, Ship and Company for 4,500 pounds to the Illawarra & South Coast S N Co., Sydney. 1916 sold to Launceston Tasmania interests (possibly New Zealand owners who registered her at Launceston) and finally of the Western District Timber Co Pty Ltd of Geelong. Scuttled July 18th 1937 off Port Phillip Heads, Victoria although another reliable source claims she was still in active service out of Tasmania effective 1956. Possibly scuttled July 18th 1957
TAMBAN 369 gross tons. Lbd: 145' x 31' x 9'5". Wooden twin screw steamship built as the Tamban for the MacLeay Farmers Co-Op Society, New South Wales. Unknown when was acquisitioned by North Coast S N Co., Sydney and renamed Kinchela Hulked in 1936 at Sydney and her engines and other working machinery were transferred to the Nambucca
...... ......


PARRAMATTA River Steam Co
As known began 1841 with co owners Edye Manning, T S Mort & H H MacArthur. 1846 MacArthur went bankrupt and his liquidator became partner. 1867 Company was reorganised as Parramatta S N Co.
Ed Ed Ed Ed
CYGNET
1866-91

EMU
1841-84
ALCHYMIST
1869-78
No images images available
CYGNET 30 gross tons, 16 net. Lbd: 88' x 11'8" x 9'. Paddle Steamship built by G Thompson at Balmain, Sydney for E Manning & T S Mort, registered Sydney. Held 1 high & 1 low pressure cylinder steam engine of 30nhp. July 1867 owned by Parramatta Steam Co, Sydney working in ferry capacity. April 1870 of the Clarence & Richmond Rivers S N Co, Sydney, servicing the northern NSW River ports. 1871 lengthened to 118'3" x 14'5" x 5', tonnage became 57 gross, 36 net and re-engined with a 2 cylinder horizontal condensing engine of 28 horsepower. July 1872 owned by William Marshall who unsuccessfully tried to convert her into a screw propellor steamship. April 1879 owned by H Perdriau Jnr. Register officially closed August 1891 declaring her as 'made into a landing barge'
.........
EMU 72 gross tons, 44 net. Lbd: 94' x 14' x 6'1". on32274. Iron paddle steamer built by built by Ditchburn & Mare, Blackwall London 1840-41 for Parramatta Steam Co, Sydney. Shipped in frame sections and re-assembled at the Standerings by John Struth, Sydney. Whne launched was towed from the stocks at Sussex St into the water by the paddle steamship 'Kangaroo', taken alongside the wharf for installation of boilers and fittings. Held a jet condensing engine making 32 horsepower and rigged as a two masted schooner. Owners - 1841 Parramatta Steam Co (as Edye Manning & H H MacArthur). 1846 MacArthur went bankrupt and his liquidator became partner. December 1852 Edye Manning sole owner. 1853 Manning, T S Mort, J & W Byrnes all co-owners. 1867 Company was reorganised as Parramatta S N Co. up until 1867 was always employed on ferrying duties until superceded. Thence was employed upon various services including towage. January 1875 C E Jeanneret. 24 April 1884 sank in quicksand at Bellinger when towing the ketch 'Emily'
ALCHYMIST 54 gross tons, 35 net. Lbd: 82'4" x 15'3" x 6.2". Wooden paddle steamer with passenger capacity built by Rock Davis, at Brisbane Water, New South Wales and possibly owned by the builder. High pressure diagonal engine producing 25 horsepower. December 1871 owned by Parramatta River Steam Navigation Co., who placed her on the Sydney - Broken Bay trade as a passenger - cargo vessel. March 1873 of this concern as the Illawarra Steam Navigation Co., and serviced the Sydney - Gerringong (Broughton) trade. Sold to J & T Fenwick in December 1873 and utilised on the northern rivers, at times in the capacity as a tug. Wrecked at Woody Point near the Clarence River New South Wales 19th January 1978


John & Thomas FENWICK
Ed Ed Ed
ALCHYMIST
1869-78
FRANCIS HIXSON
1876-83
PROTECTOR
1884-1908
FRANCIS HIXSON image - Artist's sketch drawn over 100 years ago
ALCHYMIST 54 gross tons, 35 net. Lbd: 82'4" x 15'3" x 6.2". Wooden paddle steamer with passenger capacity built by Rock Davis, at Brisbane Water, New South Wales and possibly owned by the builder. High pressure diagonal engine producing 25 horsepower. December 1871 owned by Parramatta River Steam Navigation Co., who placed her on the Sydney - Broken Bay trade as a passenger - cargo vessel. March 1873 of this concern as the Illawarra Steam Navigation Co., and serviced the Sydney - Gerringong (Broughton) trade. Sold to J & T Fenwick in December 1873 and utilised on the northern rivers, at times in the capacity as a tug. Wrecked at Woody Point near the Clarence River New South Wales 19th January 1978
FRANCIS HIXSON 156 gross tons, 68 net. Lbd: 114'7" x 19'7" x 10'1". Iron composite paddle steamer built by J Ettringham, South Sheilds for W Hesselton, Sydney. Two side lever surface condensing engines producing 80 horsepower as built by J P Rennoldson, South Shields. Arrived and registered Sydney January 1877 with saloon capacity for 60 passengers. Named after a former Royal Navy Officer who became Harbour Master of Sydney and Lighthouse Inspector. February 1877 sold to J & T Fenwick who seem to have employed her as a tug on the Northern Rivers of New South Wales. 17 January 1883 the passdle steamer Platypus ran aground at Ballina whilst under tow by (Unknown) from Sydney. Francis Hixson went to her assistance only to strike a hard sunstance on the South Spit at Ballina which caused her to be holed and her fore compartment completed filled. The 'Platypus' was saved but not the Francis Hixson, whoose engines were placed in the hull of a newer vessel - Protector
PROTECTOR 158 gross tons, 100 net. Lbd: 101'5" x 22' x 8'7". on89331. Wooden hulled paddle steamer built by J A Pashley, Richmond River, NSW for T Fenwick, Sydney. Two side lever surface condensing engines producing 80 horsepower as built by J P Rennoldson, South Shields that were formerly with the wrecked Francis Hixson, also of Fenwick ownership. Single mast, located centre of vessel. Built as a tug and used so in that capacity as a 'subsidised bar-tug' on the Richmond up until 1st July 1908 when the bar claimed her as a total wreck


Sawmillers Shipping Co Ltd S A Joseph, Sydney
Bernard Byrnes, Sydney
A Auland, Sydney, later Aulco Pty Ltd, Sydney
Ed Ed Ed Ed Ed
KIANGA
1922-48
MACGREGOR
1881-1916
BELBOWRIE
1911-39
SPHENE
1895-1941
MAIWARA
1924-1956
MACGREGOR image courtesy State Library Victoria
BELBOWRIE image (P10647) courtesy Wollongong City Library
SPHENE image personal collection
KIANGA 338 gross tons, 146 net. Lbd: 135'6" x 32' x 8'2". Wooden twin screw steamship of twin compounded engines producing 40 nhp. Built by R J Lacey possibly in conjunction with A McMillan & Co at Narooma, New South Wales for Sawmillers Shipping Co Ltd. 1933 owned by the Illawarra & South Coast S N Co. Requisitioned by the Royal Australian Navy as a Minesweeper from September 1941. Decommissioned 1946 but not returned to owners and subsequentially scuttled off Sydney Heads on July 7th 1946
MACGREGOR 256 gross tons, 163 net. Lbd: 129'8" x 21'7" x 9'2". Compound surface condensing engine producing 68 nhp. Iron steamship built by McQuarrie & McCallum, Mechanics Bay, Auckland New Zealand for Alex MacGregor. This owner went on to form the Northern Steam Ship Co of New Zealand. Designed for the New Zealand coastal passenger-cargo trade. January Owned in 1888 by S A Joseph, registered Sydney. April 1888 J Montefiore and later again owned by A Pelletier, both of Noumea. 1895 acquired by Burns Philp & Co Ltd, Sydney for the short term mail contract, in May 1895 between Albany and Esperance, Western Australia. April 1897 sold to Gallop & Laurie of Fremantle. July 1900 Bernard Byrnes of Sydney. Hulked and register closed March 1916
SPHENE 411 gross tons. Lb: 142'5" x 25'1" (43.4 x 7.7 metres). Cargo collier steamship built by Scott Bowling, Bowling for W Robertson, Glasgow. Single screw. Compounded engine. 1902 owned by R Byrnes, Sydney New South Wales. 1918 owned by R G Cowlishaw, Sydney. 1920 purchased by Australian Steamships Pty Ltd (Howard Smith) 1935 sold to A Auland, Sydney and renamed Dellie. 1937 transferred to Aulco Pty Ltd, Sydney. Wrecked off Cook Is and beached on Fingal Head 24th August 1941
BELBOWRIE 218 gross tons. Lbd: 123'2" x 29' x 8'3". (37 metres long) Wooden twin screw steamship built at the yards of R. Davis at Blackwall, Woy Woy, Brisbane Water on the New South Wales Central Coast. Completed under the management of W. Davis and J. Cameron. Built for J. Weston, the vessel was powered by two 2 cylinder steam engines manufactured by Mort's Dock and Engineering Co Ltd, Balmain. Sold 1914 to Coastal Shipping Co-operative Co Ltd., Sydney. Sold 1915 to the Coffs Harbour Co-operative Steam Ship Co Ltd. In 1918 the Belbowrie's list of owners grew when she was purchased by Bell and Frazer Ltd and in the early 1920s ownership changed again to Kirsten and Earnshaw Ltd (New Zealand interests that perhaps didn't finalise the purchase) Sold again in 1923 or 24 to Shoalhaven Steam Ship Co Ltd. In 1928 she was again sold to A. Auland and about 1932 onto Aulco Pty Ltd of Bond Street, Sydney. The Register of Australian and New Zealand Shipping of 1937 gives the owner again as A. Auland (presumably associated with Aulco P/L). Wrecked on rocks at Green Point, South Maroubra, NSW, near the Long Bay rifle range, 16 January 1939. The lifeboat was smashed, but a lifebelt was floated ashore over the reef, then securely held, while the ten crew made their way to safety hand over hand although the fireman was injured when leaving the wreck
MAIWARA 606 gross tons, 336 net. Lbd: 179'2" x 29'1" x 11'2". Steel steamship, triple expansion engine producing 69hp as built and engined by International Shipbuilding & Engineering Co., Danzig for the Scottish Frisian Shipping Co., Glasgow (Crawford & Galloway ) as the Schleswig. Service speed of 10 knots. Acquired 1925 by Burns Philp & Co Ltd, registered Glasgow and renamed Maiwara and employed on the New Guinea coastal ports. Sold 1941 to Aulco Pty Ltd registered Sydney. 1942 saw her taken over by the Australian Commonwealth Government for war service and sold in September 1946 to Asian interests who renamed her Nan Sheng. Deleted from register 1956


W G LAIDLEY & Co., Sydney
W G Laidley & Others
Ed Ed Ed
TAMAR
1869-1911
BRUNNER
1888-1915
LLEWELLYN
1875-82
TAMAR image C Dickson-Gregory painting
BRUNNER image (gr000089) courtesy State Library Victoria
TAMAR Steamer, 453 gross tons, 308 net. Lbd: 185'5" x 25'1" x 12'. Iron steamship built by Blackwood & Gordon, Port Glasgow, 1869 for the Tasmanian Steam Navigation Company. Engine producing 90 horsepower. Designed specifically for the Launceston - Melbourne Bass Strait passenger service. Described as 'a splendid sea boat with excellent accommodation'. Sold July 1882 to A Campbell & Partners, Sydney. Sold December 1895 to W G Laidley & Others. Acquired for the coal trade by either or both concerns since 1882, and ran between Sydney and Newcastle, ending her days as a hulk in Sydney Harbour as at 1911. The hulk itself was up for sale as late as 1923
BRUNNER 540 tons. built 1888 by J McArthur Paisley for Brunner Coal Company ( M. Kennedy), Greymouth NZ. 1898 sold to Union SS Co of New Zealand then sold 1900 to Laidley & Co, Sydney. (Later Laidley & Co became agents only for various fleet owners). Owners since 1905 Loo Tom Fin, Sydney. 1913 On Chong & Co., Sydney. Wrecked - 22nd May 1915 at Apaman Island, Gilbert Is. on passage Tarawa for Manute
LLEWELLYN 290 gross tons, 197 net. Lbd: 151'2" x 24' x 12'. Wooden steamship, single screw as built by D Sheedy at Wooloomooloo Sydney for William Hughes, Sydney. Sold July 1875 to J S McFarlane, Sydney. Sold September 1875 to Auckland S N Co., Auckland New Zealand. At this juncture, she was fitted with passenger accomodation, 42 saloon and 35 in steerage. Re-measured she was 155 feet in length and tonnage increased to 478 gross & 358 net. Not too popular in New Zealand coastal service and sold April 1877 to J M Banks, F Bickle & J Paul, registered at Sydney. From June 1877 she 'replaced' the Kembla' on the Newcastle trade under obvious charter arrangement with the Newcastle S N Co., Sydney. Since, and under the agency of W Laidley & Co, she operated the Sydney - North Queensland routes in passenger-cargo capacity. Sold February 1881 to E Vickery where she serviced the south coast of New South Wales as a passenger carrying collier. August 1881 sold to G A Lloyd. Wrecked upon Bellambi Reef, New South Wales 23rd May 1882


William MARSHALL, Sydney
Ed Ed Ed
LUNA
1864-70
NEW MOON
1858-64
CYGNET
1866-91
No images available
LUNA 252 gross tons, 163 net. Lbd: 170'1" x 24' x 8'5". Iron paddlesteamer, built Greenwich, London, 1864. Powered by an oscillating engine = 120 horsepower. Owned by J Harbottle of London. Operated as a blockade runner in the southern states of America during their civil war. 1866 owned by D & J Parker who despatched the vessl to Melbourne with a view to selling her. Whilst unsold, she was placed upon the Melbourne - Geelong service in passenger-cargo capacity. On 16 July 1867, under Captain Webb, ran down and sank the steamer Black Swan (no lives lost) off Gellibrand Point, Port Phillip, and as a result incured debts that led to her being seized and sold at auction. May 1868 registered as owned by Parker & Skinner, Melbourne. August 1868 bought by Captain William Marshall, Sydney who placed her on the Sydney - Manning River trade. 1869 official tonnage read as 311 gross tons, 196 net. Strong competition saw her removed from that trade and sold to New Zealand interests May 1870. Ended her service in New Zealand, being converted into a hulk, date unknown and dismantled 1902. Finally scuttled off Lyttelton Heads
NEW MOON 60 gross tons, 48 net. Lbd: 91' x 12' x 6'. Wooden paddle steamship built by or for William Marshall on the Hawksbury River, New South Wales. Held engine producing 25 horsepower. Designed for the passenger service between Sydney and Windsor. 1858 saw her placed upon the Sydney - Macleay River trade. Very little known of this vessel except she was wrecked at the Clarence River entrance upon the bar on 27th December 1882 with a loss of eleven lives
CYGNET 30 gross tons, 16 net. Lbd: 88' x 11'8" x 9'. Paddle Steamship built by G Thompson at Balmain, Sydney for E Manning & T S Mort, registered Sydney. Held 1 high & 1 low pressure cylinder steam engine of 30nhp. July 1867 owned by Parramatta Steam Co, Sydney working in ferry capacity. April 1870 of the Clarence & Richmond Rivers S N Co, Sydney, servicing the northern NSW River ports. 1871 lengthened to 118'3" x 14'5" x 5', tonnage became 57 gross, 36 net and re-engined with a 2 cylinder horizontal condensing engine of 28 horsepower. July 1872 owned by William Marshall who unsuccessfully tried to convert her into a screw propellor steamship. April 1879 owned by H Perdriau Jnr. Register officially closed August 1891 declaring her as 'made into a landing barge'


PORT STEPHENS Steamship Co Ltd., Sydney
also owned Williams – built 1906. 86ft. Wrecked Stockton Beach 1922; Seagull II – built 1910. 86ft. Wrecked Stockton Beach 1926.
as yet to ascertain ship types'
MANNING & MACLEAY Rivers S N Co
Ed Ed Ed
ASTRAL
1908-24
MAIANBAR
1910-40
QUEEN OF THE SOUTH
1877-1919
................ image courtesy ..................
ASTRAL 157 gross tons, 79 net. Of twin screws, propulsion = 18 horsepower. Coastal steamship built at Foster, New South Wales for Thomas Miles. 1912 owned by Port Stephens Steamship Co Ltd until 1919. Sold to Langdon and Langdon Ltd in 1919. April 1924 foundered off Barranjoey, New South Wales
MAIANBAR 487 gross tons, 237 net. Lbd: 155'6" x 28'1" x 9'2". Steel twin screw passenger ship built by Ardrossan Drydock & Shipbuilding Co, Glasgow for the North Coast Steam Navigation Company. She boasted 'electric light' and refrigeration and worked the north coast New South Wales ports. Lengthened 1920 to be of 513 gross and 229 net tons. New Lbd: 175'6" x 28'1" x 9'2". Sold to Port Stephens Steamship Co Ltd., Sydney and acquired 1940 again by the North Coast Steam Navigation Company. Wrecked at Nobby's Beach off Newcastle, New South Wales after breaking from tow on a voyage Newcastle NSW to Sydney in ballast 5th May 1940
QUEEN OF THE SOUTH 198 gross tons. Lbd: 126'2" x 22'1" x 7'8". Iron paddle steamship built for the Manning & MacLeay Rivers S N Co. Sold to New Zealand interests date unknown and was lost at Cape Campbell, New Zealand on 10th May 1919


SHELLHARBOUR Steam Navigation Co Ltd., Sydney
1886?-1905
Owned two vessels only, with a third vessel, Minx being chartered., Sold out to Illawara & South Coast S N Co in August 1905
Ed Ed Ed Ed
DAIRY MAID
1876-95
MINX
1878-80+
PETERBOROUGH
1886-1911
DAIRY MAID (P01649) image and PETERBOROUGH images courtesy Wollongong City Library
DAIRY MAID 83 gross tons, 56 net. Lbd: 96' x 19'7" x 6'6". Wooden steamship, schooner rigged with engine producing 32 nautical horsepower. Built by Rock Davis at Brisbane Water, New South Wales for the Shellharbour S N Co and enrolled under John Conway, the Company Director and Treasurer. Worked Gerringong - Sydney run as a passenger-cargo vessel. October 30th 1878 struck a reef off Woniora Point, holed, filled with water but remained fast and above the waterline Had her cargo removed and salvage attempts were made, successfully and out of service until December that year for repairs. The Minx was chartered during her lay up. Recorded as having sunk 23rd April 1905
MINX 51 gross tons. Lbd: 75'6" x 15'6" x 7'2". Wooden steamship built and owned by J Halstead, North Sydney. Of a compounded engine producing 16 horsepower. Little else known except she was chartered by the Shellharbour S N Co Ltd as a replacement for their laid up vessel, Dairy Maid from Early November until December 1878. Since, sold to interests based in Hobart Tasmania. No further details
PETERBOROUGH 159 gross tons, 108 net. Lbd: 111'9" x 20'7" x 7'6". Wooden steamship built by Atlas Engineering Co., Woolwich, New South Wales for the Shellharbour S N Co Ltd., Sydney. Of a compounded engine producing 35 horsepower, she worked out of Shellharbour in direct competition with the Illawarra S N Co until the Illawarra & South Coast S N Co purchased her August 1905. Hulked 1911


Angus CAMPBELL & Partners, Sydney
Partners being A McLean, W Andrews and M C Cowlinshaw
Ed Ed Ed Ed
TAMAR
1869-1911
BLACKBIRD
1863-78
....................
....................
TAMAR image painting by C Dickson-Gregory
TAMAR Steamer, 453 gross tons, 308 net. Lbd: 185'5" x 25'1" x 12'. Iron steamship built by Blackwood & Gordon, Port Glasgow, 1869 for the Tasmanian Steam Navigation Company. Engine producing 90 horsepower. Designed specifically for the Launceston - Melbourne Bass Strait passenger service. Described as 'a splendid sea boat with excellent accommodation'. Sold July 1882 to A Campbell & Partners, Sydney. Sold December 1895 to W G Laidley & Others. Acquired for the coal trade by either or both concerns since 1882, and ran between Sydney and Newcastle, ending her days as a hulk in Sydney Harbour as at 1911. The hulk itself was up for sale as late as 1923
BLACKBIRD 665 gross tons, 531 net. Lbd: 196'4" x 28'4" x 16'7". Iron steamship built by C Mitchell and Co., at Low-Walker Newcastle on Tyne in 1863 as an three-masted iron screw barque for Grice Sumner & Co., Melbourne. Was placed briefly on the Adelaide-Melbourne run in replacing the damaged Penola, also owned by Grice Sumner and Co., during repairs. Since, she worked the Melbourne - Queensland mail run under contract up until 1873, and undercutting the 'established' shipping firms with low fares for passengers along the way. 1876 she was purchased by (Captain) A. Campbell & Partners, registered Sydney. This partnership seems to float in and out of percentage ownership, where all commenced with 25% equal shareholding until, 1872 when a J Johnson held 1/8th percentage of at least this vessel. By 1875 the Cowlinshaw brothers seemed to have managing rights, by advertising her for passengers to Townsville and Cooktown from Sydney. In rough weather, and under command of Captain McConach, she was wrecked a short distance west from the Kate Kearney Channel, Gippsland coast, 2 June 1878. No loss of life


MORUYA Steam Navigation Co Ltd
Sydney New South Wales
formed circa 1890 with the acquisition of the Trident by Moruya residents unhappy with the services of the Illawarra S N Co at the time. The company evolved from the success of the Trident and in 1894 found agreement with their direct opposition and gaining exclusive use of the Moruya trade for themselves for the following 5 years. Fate of Moruya S N Co unknown, seemingly ended with the sale of their last vessel in 1904. The Moruya area perhaps gained a better shipping service from the newly formed Illawarra & South Coast S N Co., who named a vessel after this township in 1906
Ed Ed Ed Ed
TRIDENT
1886-94
KOONYA
1887-98
COOMONDERRY
c 1886-1969
MURRAY
1859-1917
KOONYA image available from the National Library of Australia
COOMONDERRY image (d1_25040) courtesy of State Library New South Wales
MURRAY image (B17369) courtesy State Library South Australia
TRIDENT 68 gross tons. Lbd: 84' x 18'6" x 6'8". Wooden steamship built and owned by G Dent at Jervis Bay New South Wales. Held compounded engine producing 30 horsepower. May 1890 acquired by G Fishburn & Partners who evolved into this concern, the Moruya S N Co Ltd., Sydney. September 6th, 1894 wrecked at the Moruya breakwater without any loss of lives. Ship raised and beached but found beyond repair
KOONYA 118 gross tons, 80 net. Lbd: 107'2" x 19'4" x 9'6". Wooden steamship built by William Bayes at Hobart, Tasmania for the Risby Brothers who operated her out of Hobart. She was a passenger - cargo vessel engined HP 30 horsepower. Sold January 1889 to the United Steam Ship Co Ltd., Launceston who employed her on the northern and western coastlines of Tasmania. Sold April 1896 to E T Miles (Tasmania). September 1896 purchased by the Moruya S N Co Ltd., Sydney. On the 25th January 1898 when bound for Sydney from Moruya, she was wrecked off Cronulla, New South Wales. No lives lost
COOMONDERRY 146 gross tons, 58 net. Lbd: 110'2" x 20'1" x 7'6". Steel steamship built by T B Seath & Co., Rutherglen England for the Berry Estate. J Hay was manager of that estate. Passenger - cargo vessel, compounded engine of 37 horsepower. November 1898 owned by the Moruya S N Co Ltd., Sydney. June 1904 owned by R Anderson & Allen Taylor. November 1905 bought by Illawarra & South Coast S N Co. Serviced the southern New South Wales ports to Sydney. Sold 1915 to Melbourne owners and converted into an auxilliary 3 masted motor vessel. Eventually wrecked 1969 at Fiji
MURRAY 81 gross tons, 59 net. Lbd: 98'6" x 16'3" x 7'7". Iron steamship built by T B Seath at Rutherglen, Glasgow. Engine of 18 horsepower by J Winsop, Glasgow. May possibly have been launched as the Cromwell. August 1863 official register stated owned by J & W Byrnes, Sydney although arrived Australian waters December 1861 and advertised by the Byrnes from August 1862 to run a service between Rockhampton Queensland and Port Denison. Originially designed for the Port Adelaide - Goolwa passenger trade. December 1863 owned by J Broomfield, location unknown. 1864 saw engine removed and her status became that of a sailing (2 masted schooner) cargo ship. Sold to New Zealand owners 1867, same that that she was re-engined. During her time operating on New Zealand waters, and in 1873 she was lengthened with new dimensions of 114 gross & 78 net tons, Lbd: 117' x 16'4" x 7'8". October 1896 she returned to Australian waters and owned by W Pollock (Moruya S N Co., Sydney) and serviced the passenger trade between Sydney and Moruya. Sold about April 1904 to unknown others and recorded as converted into a hulk circa 1917


PARBURY, GILCHRIST & Co., Sydney PARBURY, GILCHRIST & WATT PARBURY, LAMB & Co., Sydney
Ed Ed Ed Ed
TAMBAROORA
1875-79
COREA
1875-1893
TALDORA
1881-1914

PARBURYS WHARF
Sydney
COREA image (65329p) courtesy State Library Queensland
PARBURYS WHARF postcard personal collection
TAMBAROORA 406gross tons, 262 net. Lbd: 162'2" x 24' x 14'2". Iron passenger steamship, compounded engine producing 80 horsepower. Built by A Stephens & Sons, Glasgow for Parbury & Gilchrist, Sydney. Worked the Sydney - Queensland ports run as passenger - cargo. 1877 spent time on same duties under the auspices of W H Smith & Partners' Melbourne Steamship Co., clearly under charter. July 22nd, 1879 wrecked on Masthead Reef, Rockhampton Queensland
COREA 606 gross tons, 382 net. Lbd: 170'2" x 25'1" x 18'5". Iron steamship with passenger capacity built by Russell & Co., Port Glasgow for Charles Parbury, London. 1877 transferred to Parbury, Lamb & Co., Sydney. Later of Gilchrist, Parbury & Watt. From her advent at Sydney, she made regular sailings to North Queensland and continued that routine when transferred to Queensland S S Co in January 1882 as Parbury's contribution to the fledgling concern that was QSS Co. Of AUSN Co April 1887. Underwent some voyages to Singapore. August 10th 1893 wrecked upon 'E' Reef, Cape Fair, Cooktown, Queensland
TALDORA 232 gross tons, 126 net. Lbd: 130'6" x 23'2" x 8'8". Iron steamship with limited passenger capacity built by Campbelltown Shipbuilding Co., Campbelltown for McIlwraith McEacharn ( another source states built for Parbury, Lamb & Co). 1882 acquired by Queensland Steam Shipping Co. Of AUSN April 1887. Sold December 1913 to W R Black & Co., and converted into a lighter 1914. W R Black & Co subsequently bought out by AUSN Co and returned to their ownership as a lighter. Abandoned-sank Brisbane river 1932 possibly in Aquarium Stream, Doboy


SYDNEY & MELBOURNE STEAM PACKET COMPANY,
Sydney
1850's

Came into being during the early 'goldrush' fever period when anything that could float was acquired for transporting 'prospectors' to ports nearest to goldfields

Ed Ed Ed Ed Ed
GOVERNOR GENERAL
1848-71
PACIFIC
1854-71
VICTORIA
1851-64
LONDON
1837-63
HELLESPONT
1849-63
GOVERNOR GENERAL 682 gross tons, 502 net. Lbd: 199'8" x 29'7" x 12'3". Wooden paddle steamer of passenger capacity, built by W H Webb, New York. Beam engine of 460 nhp. Owners - Secar of New York and she was named New Orleans. Brought out from San Francisco in 64 days to Sydney for sale, she was purchased June 1853 by the Sydney & Melbourne Steam Packet Co, registered at Sydney and renamed. 1856 bought by ASN Co and she was given a refit including removing one deck (deemed too high by nervous passengers). Operated on the east coast until 1861. Sent to Hong Kong for sale arriving there March 17th 1861. Reported broken up 1871
PACIFIC 1569 tons. Lb: 260' x 32'5". Iron paddle steamer. Built in London for this company as a palatial passenger steamer of the most advanced standards then known. Arrived Sydney 1853. Became a ‘white elephant’ for the company as the Australian trade suffered a downturn in goldrush fever and the Crimean war created a trade depression globally. Returned to England after a year in Australia, and then operated in the Atlantic, whilst this shipping concern went into liquidation
VICTORIA 107gross tons, 69 net. Lbd: 123'6" x 15'5". Paddle Steamer. Built by T Wingate & Company Glasgow. Propulsion: steam 2 cylinder 60 hp paddle. In 1861 lengthened 132 goss tons. Lbd: 154'2" x 16'3". Owners - J McLean, Greenock. Raleigh, Locke, Thorpe & Co, Melbourne. 1853 Sydney & Melbourne Steam Packet Co, Sydney. 1856 Edye Manning and finally in 1863 Japanese Government, being renamed Nagasaki Maru No 1. Sunk off Wachijojima, Japan 1864
LONDON 687 gross tons, 406 net. Lbd: 167.0 x 26.7 x 18'. Wooden paddle steamer 380 horsepower built by John Wood at Port Glasgow, for the Dundee Perth & London Shipping Co, Dundee. Came to Australia during the Goldrush seeking gainful work or purchase and bought 1853 Sydney & Melbourne Steam Packet Co., Sydney. Placed upon the Sydney - Melbourne run as a passenger ship in opposition to the Australasian SN Co. They folded and and January 1856 she was owned by R M Robey and E M Sayers. Again she was placed in opposition to the Australasian SN Co and their reaction was, in July 1856 to purchase her. Sent and sold in 1861 to Harkort & Co., Hong Kong. Scrapped in June 1863
HELLESPONT 445 gross tons, 330 net. Lbd: 174'5" x 24'4" x 14'5". Iron steamship built by C J Mare & Co., West Ham London for the General Screw Steam Shipping Co Ltd., London. Of 2 cylinder engine producing 80 horsepower and as rigged as a 3 masted schooner. Built as a passenger ship and acquired by the Sydney & Melbourne Steam Packet Co., Sydney in 1853. She worked the Sydney - Melbourne and was quite popular until the collapse of this concern near the end of 1855 and sold to E Manning & David Jones in January 1856. They had her refitted and sent her off to Hong Kong via Singapore with passengers and cargo. At Hong Kong she was under charter until sold to Jardine, Mathieson & Co. Perhaps resold again later however accurate records states she was in a collision with the French steamship Hydaspe and sank off Woosung on December 21st 1863


R Mailler & Partners, Sydney F Buckle Snr Stephen Foyle, Newcastle
Ed Ed Ed Ed Ed
FETTERCAIRN
1851-55+
....................
NAMBUCCA
1898-1905
TAMAR
1833-73
RAPID
1840-93
TAMAR image (67522p) courtesy State Library Queensland
FETTERCAIRN 210 gross tons, 195 net. Lbd: 114'4" x 22'1" x 14'1". Wooden steamship built by Calman & Martin, Dundee Scotland for unknown owners registered at Dundee. February 1853 made her first appearance at Geelong, Victoria and purchased by A Cairns & Partners, Melbourne. An auxilliary steamer with a good reputation of speed under sail, she also held a 30 horsepower engine. Worked out of Melbourne to various ports of Victoria, Port Albert included as a passenger/cargo vessel. May 1854 (officially) sold to R Mailler & Partners, Sydney, having already twice journeyed from Sydney to Brisbane, her last trip being in March 1854. Since, spent idle time laid up and probably sold soon after where records state her leaving for Manilla in June 1855. No further details

NAMBUCCA Wooden screw steamer of 166 tons gross and 94 tons net. Lbd: 96' x 24'2" x 7'2". Built at Balmain, Sydney in 1898, by David Drake for F Buckle Snr. Her engines were of 24 h.p. nominal, and 120 h.p. indicated. Worked the North coast of New South Wales. Sold/transferred to the Marlborough Steamship Company of New Zealand in 1902, Whilst under the command of Captain William George North. she sank on 16th January 1905 near Sinclair Head in thick weather en route Blenheim to Wellington, New Zealand
TAMAR 88 gross tons, 130 net. Lb: 96'3" x 17'8". Wooden paddle steamer, built by James McMillan & John Wood, Greenock Glasgow in 1833 for D & J Bryan (loosely the Tamar Steam Nav Co, Australia), based in Launceston Tasmania. Carried passengers from Launceston to Twofold Bay, New South Wales until 1834 when sold to J T S Wilson & T Burdekin, Sydney. They placed her on the Hunter River trade only to find she was too deep for that service. 1835 J T S Wilson sole owner. 1836 lengthened to reduce draught by Russell at Pyrmont, Sydney becoming 200 gross tons & 130 net. Lb:124'0" x 16'. Stated a passenger capacity of 140 with cabin space for about 70. 1840 General Steam Navigation Co, Sydney, 1842 Hunter River S N Co. 1850 traded to Moreton Bay Queensland without success and placed upon the Clarence River service. 1851 Australasian S N Co. 1852 rebuilt by L Corcoran, Sydney. 1860 engaged by the Queensland Government mail contract, the first ever awarded, and steamed from Brisbane to Gladstone via Maryborough. 1861 J & A Brown, Sydney. At times (1862) placed on passenger runs from Sydney to Brisbane in opposition to Australasian S N Co but most was employed as a tug. 1866 William Farthing, 1866 Stephen Foyle, Newcastle New South Wales. Wrecked Cabbage Tree Bay Norah Head, 11 January 1873 (sources - Clydebuilt Shipping, R Parsons & N L McKellar)
RAPID 96 gross tons, 61 net. Lbd: 86'3" x 16'7" x 9'1". ON32075. Wooden steamship built as the Derwent 1840 by D Hoy, Port Arthur Tasmania. Held a 40 horsepower steam engine as constructed at Napier Glasgow. Schooner rigged of two masts. S J Lindsay, Hobart probably first owner. It is known she plied the Port Arthur trade until 1859 when sent to Sydney for selling purpose. Thomas Hale of Bellambi recorded as owner from May 1859 with vessel registered Sydney. August 1860 owned by Charles Solomon, sent to Nelson New Zealand for selling purposes and she arriving there 24 September 1860. No buyer and she made one New Zealand coastal voyage whereupon 21 March 1861 departed for Sydney under ballast. March 1861 owned by S Clarke. May 1861 purchased by John B Bingle, Newcastle (Bingle & Co) and intended for their Newcastle Towing business. June 1865 owned by G R Dibbs. June 1865 owned by T A Dibbs. January 1867 co-owned by T A Dibbs & Stephen Foyle. At this juncture of ownership and in 1868 the Melbourner Tug Operators of James Deane & H Reid advertised the Rapid as 'their' tug operating in Newcastle, all this based upon good business connections with Stephen Foyle who was related to the Brown family. August 1874 co-owned by G R Dibbs (32%) and J & A Brown. May 1877 co-owned by James Brown (32%) with John Russell and George Pringle. At this point in time the ownership was in dispute between George Dibbs and J & A Brown who forcibly seized the vessel on or about 16th May 1877 towed her to Minmi. September 1879 owned by John Brown. 1881 co-owned by James, Alexander & John Brown, registered Newcastle. Register on vessel closed 1883 as stating she was broken up however, another Rapid was built same year by the Callen Brothers, Stockton, NSW and is believed to be a refit of the original 'rapid'. Given a new ON (Official Number) as 83883, she was fitted with side lever steam engine of 40 horsepower. Lb almost identical being recorded as 92 x 16 x 9 feet. Rigged as a single masted sloop, she was owned by John & Alexander Brown. 10 year rebirth lifspan until April 1893 when engine removed and vessel broken up


J C ELLIS & J E Mitchell, Sydney Mitchell, Tyler, O'Connor & Irwin, Sydney George DENT Snr., Botany Bay
Ed Ed Ed Ed
ALBION
1863-89
....................
HERO
1861-91
ADA DENT
1884-1907
ALBION image courtesy State Library Victoria
ALBION/CENTENNIAL 806 gross tons, 591 net. Lbd: 218'3" x 27'2" x 15'4". Iron passenger steamship 2 funnels, 2 cylinders producing 180 horsepower. Built by Scott of Greenoch for Albion Shipping Co., Glasgow. 1886 of the Otago S N Co., Dunedin New Zealand. Purchased 1868 by E B & J Cargill and George McLean when Otago S N Co collapsed and placed on Tasman run. 1868 C J Hoyt and A McKinnon. 1871 Henry Hoyt. October 1871 by McMeckan, Blackwood & Co., Melbourne. February 1879 Union Steamship Co of New Zealand. June 1883 sold to J C Ellis & J E Mitchell, Sydney. May 1887 Captain T R Brown. June 1888 J C Ellis and renamed Centennial in October of that year. Foundered, wrecked 23rd August 1889 Sydney harbour after collision with the Kanahooka. No lives lost

HERO 985 gross tons, 851 net. Lbd:224'3" x 29'2" x 15'7". Iron steamship of 2 cylinders producing 150 horsepower. Built by C & W Earle, Hull England for unknown owners in 1861 as a passenger vessel. Sold 1862 to J Baines & Co. Blackball line, Liverpool. November 1863 sold to T J Sumner, J Benn & R Bright and registered at Melbourne. 1865 chartered by the Queensland Government for a mail run from Brisbane to Batavia, linking with the English mail steamers at that port. 1866 she ran the newcastle - melbourne coal trade. 1873 she was used on the Auckland - Sydney - Melbourne passenger service, extending that itinery to Fiji by 1878. 1880 sold to Union Steamship Co of New Zealand. June 1886 sold to Mitchell, Tyler, O'Connor & Irwin, of Sydney. March 1891 sold to Noumea interests ( O L Montifiore ) and hulked. 1901 the hulk was driven ashore, permanently on Kaouauva, New Caledonia
ADA DENT 43 gross tons, 30 net. Lbd: 71' x 14'7" x 6'. Wooden steamship built and owned by George Dent Snr., Botany Bay New South Wales. Compound surface condensing engine producing 20 horsepower. July 1885 acquired by Burns Philp & Co. Wrecked 27th April 1907 Proserpine River Queensland


J T S Wilson & T Burdekin, Sydney
William Farthing
Ed
TAMAR
1833-73
TAMAR image (67522p) courtesy State Library Queensland
TAMAR 88 gross tons, 130 net. Lb: 96'3" x 17'8". Wooden paddle steamer, built by James McMillan & John Wood, Greenock Glasgow in 1833 for D & J Bryan (loosely the Tamar Steam Nav Co, Australia), based in Launceston Tasmania. Carried passengers from Launceston to Twofold Bay, New South Wales until 1834 when sold to J T S Wilson & T Burdekin, Sydney. They placed her on the Hunter River trade only to find she was too deep for that service. 1835 J T S Wilson sole owner. 1836 lengthened to reduce draught by Russell at Pyrmont, Sydney becoming 200 gross tons & 130 net. Lb:124'0" x 16'. Stated a passenger capacity of 140 with cabin space for about 70. 1840 General Steam Navigation Co, Sydney, 1842 Hunter River S N Co. 1850 traded to Moreton Bay Queensland without success and placed upon the Clarence River service. 1851 Australasian S N Co. 1852 rebuilt by L Corcoran, Sydney. 1860 engaged by the Queensland Government mail contract, the first ever awarded, and steamed from Brisbane to Gladstone via Maryborough. 1861 J & A Brown, Sydney. At times (1862) placed on passenger runs from Sydney to Brisbane in opposition to Australasian S N Co but most was employed as a tug. 1866 William Farthing, 1866 Stephen Foyle, Newcastle New South Wales. Wrecked Cabbage Tree Bay Norah Head, 11 January 1873 (sources - Clydebuilt Shipping, R Parsons & N L McKellar)


J C Williamson, Sydney Walker & Williamson, Sydney Robert Towns & Co, Sydney
Ed Ed Ed Ed
GIPSY
1842-56
PLUTO
1853-68
PHOENIX
1842-55
....................
GIPSY image personal collection
GIPSY 75 gross tons, 43 burthen. Lbd: 80'4" x 15'7" x 8'4". Wooden paddle steamship built by Chowne, Thompson & Chowne at Pyrmont, Sydney for the Tamar S N Co., Launceston. Held a 35 horsepower engine taken from the paddle steamer Maitland and installed by William Bourne, Sydney. Designed as a passenger tender and tug for use upon the Tamar River, Tasmania, even carrying passengers from Sydney to Launceston on her maiden voyage. 1847 owned by F A Ducroz, unknown registration. March 1852 owned by Gilmore & Henty, Melbourne. 1853 owned by the Victoria S N Co, Melbourne as owned by Broadfoot, Bonnar & Co. Used upon Hobsons Bay to Queens Wharf, Melbourne as a passenger/cargo tender until sold in September 1855 to J C Williamson, Sydney. Here then she was used as a passenger/cargo vessel servicing the Sydney - Manning River trade. 24th April 1856 wrecked on the Manning River bar. Note: sometimes known as 'Gipsey' and "Gipsay"
PLUTO 147 gross tons, 104 net. Lbd: 112'4" x 17'7" x 10'4". Iron steamship built at Dumbarton Scotland for James Bremner, Liverpool. Held 30 horsepower engine. June 1855 owned by Walker & Williamson of Sydney who placed her on the Sydney - Manning River trade in passenger-cargo capacity. Seemingly unsuccessful, she was sold, at Shanghai to the Chinese Government. Fate unknown
PHOENIX 240 gross tons, 400 burthen. Lbd: 143'9" x 21'6" x 15'7". Wooden paddle steamer built by Scotts at Greenock, Glasgow for the Cape of Good Hope S N Co, Capetown South Africa. Of 150 horsepower. 1845 Phoenix Steam Navigation Co (William Billingsley), Cape Town. Arrived Melbourne December 22nd 1852. 1853 A A Broadfoot & partners, (of both Melbourne & Adelaide) and registered at Melbourne. Placed, early 1853 on the Melbourne - Adelaide service, being capable of carrying 44 passengers in two classes. Found uneconomical and laid up in June 1853. 1855 A Dawson, Melbourne. 1855 Robert Towns & Co, Sydney who had her overhauled for a Sydney - Singapore service connecting passengers and mail with the English 'mail' steamers at that terminus. Status: Wrecked - 8th July 1855 possibly in Torres Strait, Australia on her first voyage bound for Singapore



C S Stevens, Sydney J Conway, Sydney Grazier Steamship Ltd
Ed Ed Ed Ed
BANSHEE
1875-76
....................
DAIRY MAID
1876-95
GRAZIER
1924-49
GRAZIER image (131487p) courtesy State Library Queensland
BANSHEE 86 gross tons, 59 net. Lbd: 92'1" x 15'8" x 5'7". Wooden steamship built by James Gillan & Peter Callen at Newcastle, New South Wales for C S Stevens, Sydney. High pressure engine producing 25 horsepower. November 1875 acquired by James Burns in partnership with D Owen (Master Mariner). This vessel quite possibly was James Burns first owned steam powered unit. On March 21, 1876 in poor visibility, she was wrecked on rocks at Cape Sandwich, Hinchinbrook Island Queensland with loss of 20 lives, mostly women and children. There were also twelve stowaways discovered before the tragedy

DAIRY MAID 82 gross tons, 56 net. Lbd: 96' x 19'7" x 6'6". Wooden steamer built by Rock Davis Brisbane Water, New South Wales for J Conway of Sydney registry. Held a low pressure engine producing 32 nominal horsepower. Worked the New South Wales coastal ports. Acquired November 1887 by Burns Philp & Co Ltd. Placed on their Queensland services. Foundered Cleveland Bay near Townsville Queensland April 23rd 1895
GRAZIER 107 gross tons. Lbd: 114'6" x 23'8" x 10'3". Wooden steamship built at Drummoyne, Sydney for the Grazier Steamship Limited. Her appearance is on more of an early ferry vessel, however at some stage, unknown she came under ownership of W Collins & Sons Pty Ltd, Brisbane. Recorded as 'lost' in Moreton Bay Queensland 1949 with her register closed in September of that year. While working as a coral dredge in Moreton Bay, capsized and swamped January 15th 1948, a total loss, near Mud Island (not far from Bishop Island). 1 life lost


Thomas Davis, Shipbuilder at Brisbane Water, New South Wales. Vessel/s held Sydney registry James Milson & Partners, Sydney
Ed Ed Ed Ed
ELECTRIC LIGHT
1880-1903
....................
FLORENCE
1872-1900
....................
................ image courtesy ..................
ELECTRIC LIGHT 81 gross tons. Lbd: 96'6" x 20'8" x 7'2". Wooden steamer built by Thomas Davis, Brisbane Water, New South Wales for Mr T Davis of Sydney registry. April 1882 Robert Philp. May 1896 Burns Philp & Co Ltd. Foundered 12th March 1903 and sank Cleveland Bay Queensland as a result of earlier damage sustained during the height of Hurricane 'Leona' March 9th, 1903

FLORENCE 15 gross tons, 10 net. Lbd: 48' x 9' x 4'. Wooden steamer built by William Dunn, Lavender Bay Sydney for James Milson & Partners, Sydney. August 1879 North Shore Steam Ferry Co., Sydney. February 1882 James Burns, then Burns, Philip & Co Ltd., in April 1896. Scrapped Normanton Queensland 1900



J & W Byrnes of Sydney
Note: Further vessels to be added here (October 2010)
Ed Ed Ed Ed Ed
MURRAY
1859-1917
STAR OF AUSTRALIA
1862-65
EMU
1841-84
BLACK SWAN
1854-68
PELICAN
1853-88
MURRAY image (B17369) courtesy State Library South Australia
MURRAY 81 gross tons, 59 net. Lbd: 98'6" x 16'3" x 7'7". Iron steamship built by T B Seath at Rutherglen, Glasgow. Engine of 18 horsepower by J Winsop, Glasgow. May possibly have been launched as the Cromwell. August 1863 official register stated owned by J & W Byrnes, Sydney although arrived Australian waters December 1861 and advertised by the Byrnes from August 1862 to run a service between Rockhampton Queensland and Port Denison. Originially designed for the Port Adelaide - Goolwa passenger trade. December 1863 owned by J Broomfield, location unknown. 1864 saw engine removed and her status became that of a sailing (2 masted schooner) cargo ship. Sold to New Zealand owners 1867, same that that she was re-engined. During her time operating on New Zealand waters, and in 1873 she was lengthened with new dimensions of 114 gross & 78 net tons, Lbd: 117' x 16'4" x 7'8". October 1896 she returned to Australian waters and owned by W Pollock (Moruya S N Co., Sydney) and serviced the passenger trade between Sydney and Moruya. Sold about April 1904 to unknown others and recorded as converted into a hulk circa 1917
STAR OF AUSTRALIA 231 gross tons. Lbd: 134'2" x 21'3" x 10'5". Iron steamship, schooner rigged with 2 masts and built by J Wigham Richardson on Low Walker, Tyne England for J Byrnes of Sydney. Purchased by ASN Co., very early 1865. On first voyage for ASN Co., departed Sydney for Rockhampton on 24th January 1865 and disappeared, presumed wrecked
EMU 72 gross tons, 44 net. Lbd: 94' x 14' x 6'1". on32274. Iron paddle steamer built by built by Ditchburn & Mare, Blackwall London 1840-41 for Parramatta Steam Co, Sydney. Shipped in frame sections and re-assembled at the Standerings by John Struth, Sydney. When launched was towed from the stocks at Sussex St into the water by the paddle steamship 'Kangaroo', taken alongside the wharf for installation of boilers and fittings. Held a jet condensing engine making 32 horsepower and rigged as a two masted schooner. Owners - 1841 Parramatta Steam Co (as Edye Manning & H H MacArthur). 1846 MacArthur went bankrupt and his liquidator became partner. December 1852 Edye Manning sole owner. 1853 Manning, T S Mort, J & W Byrnes all co-owners. 1867 Company was reorganised as Parramatta S N Co. up until 1867 was always employed on ferrying duties until superceded. Thence was employed upon various services including towage. January 1875 C E Jeanneret. 24 April 1884 sank in quicksand at Bellinger when towing the ketch 'Emily'
BLACK SWAN 40 gross tons. Lbd: 90'4" x 14'3" x 6'9". Iron paddle steamship built by C J Mare & Co., Blackwall London for W Byrnes of Parramatta and registered at Sydney. Shipped out in sections aboard the barquentine Daniel Wheeler, she was re-assembled by Young & Mather at Sydney. Held an oscillating engine producing 35 horsepower. Imported for the passenger 'ferry' service on the Parramatta river, soon after placed upon the Sydney - Brisbane Water weekly passenger run. Non too popular, she was moved to Manly Sydney undertaking ferrying services until 1865 when she was 'modifyed' to withstand seagoing conditions in her capacity. New dimensions were 69 gross tons Lbd: 110' x 14' x 6'2". Sold March 1866 to E Manning and T Mort who placed her on the Sydney - Port Stephens weekend excursion run. Also worked the Sydney - Newcastle service, at times taking in the port of Moruya and Turcross River on the New South Wales. Wrecked on the Manning River bar New South Wales on June 4th 1868
PELICAN 42 net tones, later measured at 69 gross & 44 net tons. Lbd: Iron hulled Paddle steamship built 1853 by C J Mare & Co at Orchard Yard, London and shipped out to Sydney in sections aboard the barquentine Daniel Wheeler, arriving April 1854. Lbd: 90'4" x 14'3" x 6'9"1854 re-assembled by Young & Mather, Sydney and launched August 1854. Originally rigged as a single masted schooner, possibly removed when reassembled. Her propulsion was an oscillating steam engine of 35 horsepower and she was placed successfully on the Parramatta River Ferry run under the ownership of W Byrne & Partners, Sydney. From 1865 they loosely called themselves as Parramatta River Steam Co. 1866 owned by T Mort and E Manning (as Parramatta River Steam Company) maintaining service on the Parramatta. 1862 saw a brief foray into the Sydney - Brisbane Waters trade. 1873 given a refit as a 2 masted scooner with dimensions changed as 91'2" x 14'8" x 6'9". Given a coastal certificate she ventured on excursion run to Gosford and Brisbane Water. 1874 owned by F Mitchell. January 1875 owned by C E Jeanneret. Services vague since this time frame, is known her hull was sheathed in wood 1875. April 1887 owned by Langley & Hogan. Before April 1888 she worked as a subsided bar tug in the Nambucca River region. 3rd April when partially laden with stores and timber 5 miles out from Nambucca and bound en route for the Bellinger, she sprang a leak and foundered. All lives saved


MORT's Dock & Engineering Co., Balmain
T S Mort
Loosely co-owner of the Parramatta Steam Co with E Manning & H H MacArthur
Note: Further vessels to be added here (October 2010)
Morts Dock Balmain 1906
Ed
Ed Ed Ed Ed Ed
EMU
1841-84
TINONEE
1866-93
HAVILAH
1853-1900
WASP
1905-41
PELICAN
1854-88
HAVILAH (108456) moored leftside the steamer 'Auckland', fully dockside. Image courtesy State Library Queensland
MORTS DOCK postcard personal collection
EMU 72 gross tons, 44 net. Lbd: 94' x 14' x 6'1". on32274. Iron paddle steamer built by built by Ditchburn & Mare, Blackwall London 1840-41 for Parramatta Steam Co, Sydney. Shipped in frame sections and re-assembled at the Standerings by John Struth, Sydney. Whne launched was towed from the stocks at Sussex St into the water by the paddle steamship 'Kangaroo', taken alongside the wharf for installation of boilers and fittings. Held a jet condensing engine making 32 horsepower and rigged as a two masted schooner. Owners - 1841 Parramatta Steam Co (as Edye Manning & H H MacArthur). 1846 MacArthur went bankrupt and his liquidator became partner. December 1852 Edye Manning sole owner. 1853 Manning, T S Mort, J & W Byrnes all co-owners. 1867 Company was reorganised as Parramatta S N Co. up until 1867 was always employed on ferrying duties until superceded. Thence was employed upon various services including towage. January 1875 C E Jeanneret. 24 April 1884 sank in quicksand at Bellinger when towing the ketch 'Emily'
TINONEE 279 gross tons. Lbd: 193'7" x 21'4" x 10'5". Iron twin screw steamship, 2 masted and schooner rigged. Of 30 horsepower and built at ASN Co's Pyrmont workshops Sydney. Sold November 1885 to B B Nicoll. October 1886 acquired by Mort's Dock & Engineering Co., Balmain. Sold August 1892 to J Broomfield. Word was she was broken up 1893 although 'official register closed 1953 stating 'fate unknown'
HAVILAH 301 gross tons, 166 net. Lbd: 151' x 22' x 13'4". Iron steamship, 2 cylinder making 55 horsepower and schooner rigged of 3 masts. Built by C Mitchell & Co., Low Walker Tyne for Charles & J F Bowman of South Australia, and Hugh McMeckan - Master Mariner in partnership. Serviced the Melbourne and Adelaide in 1854 as a passenger vessel under agency of this concern, their first managed vessel. Owners since: May 1858 Samuel White, reg., Port Adelaide. June 1861 G Fisher & Partners who traded as Launceston & Melbourne S N Co of Launceston, Tasmania. July 1866 W A Guesdon & Partners reg., Hobart. October 1867 Tasmanian Steam Navigation Co. May 1868 Mort & McArthur, registered Sydney. November 1869 ASN Co. November 1873 French owners at Noumea. July 1878 J C Lloyd registered Sydney and November 1884 Mount Kembla Coal & Oil Co. With her return to Australian registry from Noumea, she was converted into a collier by either J C Lloyd or ensuing purchaser and was converted into a hulk prior to 1900, effectively ending her status as a ship per se. Records state she was broken up in 1911. Havilah apparently means "Land of Gold"
WASP 24 gross tons. Lbd: 53'6" x 12'2" x 4'8". Built at Sydney in 1905 by unknown constructors as a wooden steamship. Very little known of her career. She was sold to Morts Dock and Engineering Co Ltd., Balmain Sydney in 1918 and broken up in 1941
PELICAN 42 net tones, later measured at 69 gross & 44 net tons. Lbd: Iron hulled Paddle steamship built 1853 by C J Mare & Co at Orchard Yard, London and shipped out to Sydney in sections aboard the barquentine Daniel Wheeler, arriving April 1854. Lbd: 90'4" x 14'3" x 6'9"1854 re-assembled by Young & Mather, Sydney and launched August 1854. Originally rigged as a single masted schooner, possibly removed when reassembled. Her propulsion was an oscillating steam engine of 35 horsepower and she was placed successfully on the Parramatta River Ferry run under the ownership of W Byrne & Partners, Sydney. From 1865 they loosely called themselves as Parramatta River Steam Co. 1866 owned by T Mort and E Manning (as Parramatta River Steam Company) maintaining service on the Parramatta. 1862 saw a brief foray into the Sydney - Brisbane Waters trade. 1873 given a refit as a 2 masted scooner with dimensions changed as 91'2" x 14'8" x 6'9". Given a coastal certificate she ventured on excursion run to Gosford and Brisbane Water. 1874 owned by F Mitchell. January 1875 owned by C E Jeanneret. Services vague since this time frame, is known her hull was sheathed in wood 1875. April 1887 owned by Langley & Hogan. Before April 1888 she worked as a subsided bar tug in the Nambucca River region. 3rd April when partially laden with stores and timber 5 miles out from Nambucca and bound en route for the Bellinger, she sprang a leak and foundered. All lives saved


R M Robey and E M Sayers, Sydney
Ed Ed Ed Ed
LONDON
1837-63
CLIO
1873-88
....................
....................
................ image courtesy ..................
LONDON 687gross tons, 406 net. Lbd: 167.0 x 26.7 x 18'. Wooden paddle steamer 380 horsepower built by John Wood at Port Glasgow, for the Dundee Perth & London Shipping Co, Dundee. Came to Australia during the Goldrush seeking gainful work or purchase and bought 1853 Sydney & Melbourne Steam Packet Co., Sydney. They placed her on the Sydney - Melbourne run as a passenger ship in opposition to ASN Co. They folded and and January 1856 she was owned by R M Robey and E M Sayers. Again she was placed in opposition to the ASN Co and their reaction was, in July 1856 to purchase her. Sent to and sold at Hong Kong 1861, purchaser Harkort & Co., Hong Kong. Scrapped in June 1863
CLIO 6.4 gross tons. Lbd: 38'4" x 8' x 3'7". Wooden steamship built by W Dunn, Lavender Bay Sydney for E M Sayers of Sydney. Sold May 1874 by ASN Co., and of AUSN Co 1887. Foundered in the Norman River, North Queensland 1888




H W Henderson's
CIRCULAR SAW Line, Sydney
J Broomfield, Sydney
Charles Clark, Newcastle
Ed Ed Ed Ed
ARCHER
1882-1934
....................
TINONEE
1866-93
PRINCE ALFRED
1862-1917
ARCHER image online source
ARCHER 694 gross tons, 440 net. Lbd: 200'2" x 29' x 13'2". Iron steamship built by London & Glasgow Engineering and Iron Shipbuilding Co., Glasgow for the Queensland Steam Shipping Co., London. Passenger vessel of 95 horsepower and capable of 10 knots. April 1887 of the AUSN Co., registered Brisbane. Sold September 1891 to H W Henderson's Circular Saw Line, registered Sydney. September 1898 sold to J Morrison, Newcastle. Sold January 1901 to the Newcastle and Hunter River S N Co. Sold January 1933 to Stacey and Williams. 1934 converted into a hulk. 1946 scuttled off Sydney Heads
TINONEE 279 gross tons. Lbd: 193'7" x 21'4" x 10'5". Iron twin screw steamship, 2 masted and schooner rigged. Of 30 horsepower and built at ASN Co's Pyrmont workshops Sydney. Sold November 1885 to B B Nicoll. October 1886 acquired by Mort's Dock & Engineering Co., Balmain. Sold August 1892 to J Broomfield. Word was she was broken up 1893 although 'official register closed 1953 stating 'fate unknown'
PRINCE ALFRED145 gross tons, 83 net. Lbd: 100'2" x 21'2" x 10'1". Iron hulled tug/steamship built by Simpson & Co, Poplar London for J Cawood, London. Held 2 cylinder oscillating engine - by builders. ON 45768. Sent to South Africa with a view to selling her. No takers and so 27 September 1864 departed Cape Town for Sydney, arriving 4th December 1864, under canvas, being schooner rigged with two masts. May 1865 owned by J Broomfield, Sydney & Charles Clark of Newcastle NSW whilst vessel registered at Sydney. September 1867 owned by Henry Rouse and Henry Finch, Newcastle NSW. October 1867 owned by Newcastle Co-Operative Steam Tug Co, Newcastle. June 1878 owned by J Brown. December 1881 owned by A & J Brown. 1917 registered closed as 'broken up'.


Cam & Sons, Sydney Perrett & McCulloch
Perrett & See
Ed Ed Ed Ed
COOLEBAR
1911-49
....................
FERNMOUNT
1884-1907
....................
COOLEBAR image shown as the Himitangi
COOLEBAR 479 gross tons. Lbd: 150'3" x 30' x 8'7". Built by Ardrossan Drydock & Shipbuilding Co, for North Coast S N Co. Sold to Holm & Co., Wellington New Zealand and renamed Himatangi in 1929/30. 1931 sold to Anchor Shipping & Foundry Co., Nelson New Zealand. 1936 Sold to Wallarah Colliery of Sydney after being laid up in Wellington since 1931. Sold 1936 to Cam & Sons, Sydney. 1938 sold to North Coast S N Co., Sydney and given original name again. 1939 requisitioned by the Australian Government and named HMAS Coolebar for 1939-45 period. Served as a minesweeper 1939 and as stores carrier 1944. 1946 of the Australian Government. Sold 1948 to Fu Chan, of Canton and renamed East River. Sank at her moorings in Newcastle harbour, 29 September 1949. She was raised in pieces and finally broken up in 1958

FERNMOUNT 269 tons. Lbd: 134' x 25'6" x 8'4". Wooden steamship of 40 horsepower as built at Scott’s Creek, New South Wales for Perrett & McCulloch. March 1885 owned by Perrett & See. March 1885 (again) owned by John See. March 1892 owned by North Coast S N Co. April 1898 sold to On Chong & Co., Sydney. Wrecked in Gilbert islands, 24th December 1907



Maurice Bern (M Bern Shipping Co), Sydney B M Corrigan and Co, Sydney
Ed Ed Ed Ed
MELINGA/ETMOR
1928-60
UKI
1923-60
TAY 1
1908-36
....................
UKI image of the Harry Renfrew Collection courtesy Clydebuilt Shipping website
MELINGA/ETMOR 536 gross tons. Lbd: 154'1" x 34'6" x 8'5". Steel motor vessel built by Burmeister & Wain at Copenhagen for North Coast Steam Navigation Co, Sydney. Of 98 horsepower. Sold 1954 to Maurice Bern (M Bern Shipping Co), Sydney who engaged her on the New Guinea run. Later she was renamed Etmor. Problems with engine valves burning out too soon saw her laid up for considerable time at Circular Quay Sydney. Sold late 1959 early 1960 only to be cut down and employed as a dumb barge on the Brisbane river
UKI 545 gross tons. Lbd:152'9" x 34'6" x 8'5". Steel twin screw passenger cargo steamship, of 70 horsepower as built by Lithgows, Port Glasgow for this concern. Carried passengers and turpentine timber piles from the northern ports to Sydney. On December 11, 1939 she was commissioned as a minesweeper to aid in the war efforts. The 'Uki', like other vessels including the 'Orara', 'Coolebar' and 'Nambucca', was converted with sweeping gear (guns) and extra accommodation to detonate mines. Although the loss of these vessels were felt by the North Coast Company, their contributions to protecting Australia's coastal waters during WWII were imperative. Sold to M. Bern & Co in 1954, continued in the timber trade and hulked in Brisbane in 1960. Stripped and scuttled off Tangalooma, Moreton Island in June 1976 as breakwater
TAY 1 536 gross tons. 1908 Built by Goole Shipbuilding and Repair Co of Goole for Edward P Hutchinson and named Tay 1. 1913 Owned by Herbert V Parbury of London. 1913 Sold to B.M.Corrigan and Co of Sydney. 1916 Bought by D, & T W Reese of Christchurch. Renamed Orepuki either 1916 or 1925. 1925 Sold to Orepuki Shipping Co with D Reese as Manager.1925 Acquired by Anchor Company. 1926 Tonnage increased to 545 gross tons. 1936 Sold to F.E.Jackson & Co of Auckland and was broken up in Nelson, New Zealand


On Chong & Co., Sydney
Ed Ed Ed Ed
FERNMOUNT
1884-1907
MACQUARIE
1909-41
....................
....................
MACQUARIE (04969r) image courtesy State Library New South Wales
FERNMOUNT 269 tons. Lbd: 134' x 25'6" x 8'4". Wooden steamship of 40 horsepower as built at Scott’s Creek, New South Wales for Perrett & McCulloch. March 1885 owned by Perrett & See. March 1885 (again) owned by John See. March 1892 owned by North Coast S N Co. April 1898 sold to On Chong & Co., Sydney. Wrecked in Gilbert islands, 24th December 1907
MACQUARIE 493 gross tons. Lbd: 160'2" x 29'1" x 9'. Steel twin screw steamship built at Hull, England for N Cain's Coastal Co-Operative Steamship Co Ltd., Sydney. Worked the Hastings River - Port Macquarie route. Upon liquidation, was sold during 1929 to North Coast S N Co., Sydney as N Cain's last remaining vessel, along with the service and goodwill. Ran the Port Macquarie route until sold again in 1929 to A G Palser of Sydney and registered at Wellington, New Zealand. 1935 was owned by On Chong & Co Ltd., (Sydney). Purchased by W R Carpenter & Co., date unknown who since, in 1937 sold to her to N E A Moller registered Shanghai and renamed Marie Moller. Employed as a salvage vessel. Captured by Japanese forces off Ningpo on December 8th 1941, her fate since unknown




A & E Ellis Ltd., Sydney
Ed Ed Ed Ed
DOUGLAS MAWSON
1914-23
TRILBY
c1901
....................
....................
DOUGLAS MAWSON image courtesy Australian National University E490 barcode 7516365 accession no E490-2
DOUGLAS MAWSON 333 gross tons, 167 net. Lbd: 141'6" x 30'7" x 7'8". Wooden twin-screw steamer built at Bawley Point, Sydney by A W Settree. Twin compounded engines producing 40 horsepower. Capable of 9 knots. Owned by A & E Ellis Ltd., Sydney. April 1918 owned by an un-named West Australian Syndicate. Later in 1918 bought by R W Miller, Newcastle, and sold 1919-20 to the Queensland Government. Had minimal passenger accomodation and was utilised for the passenger run from Cairns to the Gulf of Carpentaria by the Queensland Government. Found expensive to run and was laid up 1921 until chartered 1923 by John Burke Ltd., Brisbane. March 1923, on her first chartered run, went missing presumed foundered near Groote Island off the Gulf of Carpentaria during a cyclone
TRILBY Timber carrying cargo steamship, of N Cain's Coastal Co-Operative Steamship Co Ltd. Supposedly sold to A E Ellis in 1901. Broke shaft and towed back to Port Macquarie June 5th 1903. Captain Gray had certificate suspended. No further details




White Steam Ship Co
J G White, Sydney acted as agent for G S Yuill & Co until he floated the White Steam Ship Company in August 1926 and purchased the Corrimal. Undercutting the established shipping firms, he found early favour with customers and, chartered the Sir Dudley De Chair. In a tough market pressure came to bear and by July 1927, went into voluntary liquidation
Ed Ed
CORRIMAL
1911-69
SIR DUDLEY DE CHAIR
1925-1944
CORRIMAL image as AYRFIELD courtesy R Priest of the Nautical Association of Australia
SIR DUDLEY DE CHAIR image (301502) courtesy Australian War Memorial
CORRIMAL 1,140 gross tons. 682 net. Lbd 239'0" x 34'8" x 15'5". General cargo vessel built as the Corrimal by Greenock and Grangemouth Dockyard Grangemouth for G S Yuill & Co Ltd Australia. 1926 sold to White Steamship Co Ltd Australia. July 1927 sold to Hammond & Co Australia. November 1927 sold to James Patrick & Co Ltd., Australia. Nov 1942 Requisitioned by Australian Government and purchased December 1944 with James Patrick as managers ongoing since November 1942. December 1947 transferred to Australian Shipping Board. Laid up during 1949. Sold 1950 to Bitumen & Oil Refineries (Australia) Ltd., remained laid up. 1951 sold to R W Miller and Co., Australia, extensively refitted at Morts Dock, Sydney into a collier for use on the "60 milers" route. Altered, making two holds from the original four holds. Renamed Ayrfield. 1969 sold for demolition and scrapped
SIR DUDLEY DE CHAIR 420 tons. Lbd: 147' x 26'6" x 9'2". Steel steamship built by NSW Government Dockyard Newcastle, Australia for and in conjunction with Dorman, Long & Co as the Sir Dudley De Chair. Her purpose with Dorman Long & Co was ancilliary to the construction of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Chartered early 1927 by the White Steamship Co, Sydney (J G White) who ran her between Brisbane and Sydney. White Steamship co went into voluntary liquidation July 1927. Acquired by the Adelaide Steamship Co in 1928, renamed Terka and placed upon the Queensland coast lightering sugar to larger vessels. 1940 became RAN auxilliary vessel WW2, as a minesweeper and later as a water carrier. Lost at Madang 26th March 1944



E F A Knoblauch, Sydney Frederick Cox, Sydney
William Langley, New South Wales
Ed Ed Ed Ed
MANGANA
1875-1900
OTWAY
1872-1913
CORRA LYNN
1902-14
....................
MANGANA image & OTWAY (b49655) image courtesy State Library Victoria
MANGANA 752 gross tons, 28 net. Lbd: 208'3" x 27'1" x 19'3". Iron steamship built by D & W Henderson, Glasgow for Tasmanian Steamships Pty Ltd. Of 2 decks and powered by a compounded engine producing 350 horsepower. As a passenger vessel, she serviced the Hobart - Sydney run, also taking in the Melbourne - Hobart service on occassion. 1891 taken over by Union SS Co of New Zealand. 1892 sold to Jouve & Co., (Syndicat Calédonien) Noumea. 1897 E F A Knoblauch, Sydney. December 1900 purchased by Huddart Parker hulked 1901 at Port Adelaide. Finally abandoned ashore North Arm, Port Adelaide South Australia 1931
OTWAY 446 gross tons, 271 net. Lbd: 180' x 25' x 12'. Iron steamship of 93 horsepower, 2 masts as built Blackwood & Gordon, Glasgow for the Warrnambool Steam Packet Co, Melbourne. Designed as a passenger vessel for their Melbourne - Western Districts of Victoria run, carrying the name Otway. May 1878 C V Robinson & Partners, Melbourne. November 1878 Lilly & Marshall, whom together with Anderson, became the Western Australian Shipping Company. That concern folded selling all to Adelaide Steamship Co in May 1883. Refitted 1883 to 203' x 25'2" x 12' with tonnage 563 gross. 1892 sold to A Jouve & Co, Noumea. June 1897 E F Knoblauch, reg Sydney. October 1897 sold to Illawarra S N Co Ltd., Sydney and employed as cargo only vessel. June 1901 sold to North coast S N Co and in August renamed Nymbodia. Hulked 1913 and scrapped 1930
CORRA LYNN 151 gross tons, 86 net. Lbd: 107'5" x 24' x 7'4". Wooden steamship built by G Mawatt at Narooma, New South Wales with a 32 horsepower engine as constructed by Chapman & Co, Sydney. Original owner Frederick Cox, registered Sydney and vessel employed in the timber trade. Had very limited passenger capacity. Sold circa 1908 to William Langley. November 17th 1914 wrecked after being driven ashore at Port Stephens during inclement weather on her way from Newcastle to the Manning river, New South Wales



C J STEVENS
former director of both Australasian S N Co and the Illawarra Steam Navigation Co.
Went solo as a shipowner and in direct competition with those two concerns when petty politics forced him to resign his directorship. Found success with his endeavours proving that strong local support and good business management make for a 'win-win' situation
Went on to form the Newcastle Steam Navigation Co
Ed Ed Ed Ed
KEMBLA
1860-1917
WESTERN
1861-1910
....................
....................
KEMBLA image courtesy Wollongong City Library
KEMBLA 325 gross tons, 204 net. Lbd: 185'1" x 22'1" x 11'5". Iron paddle steamship built by J Reid & Co., Glasgow for the Illawarra S N Co., Sydney. Of 2 cylinder LP producing 165 horsepower and capable of 14 knots. As a passenger vessel, she worked the Merimbula trade until the Kiandra gold diggings ran out and, was despatched to New Zealand with a view to sell her in 1861. Without success she returned to Australia being mostly laid up. 1872 saw her servicing Sydney - Melbourne via Wollongong, Shoalhaven and Eden, but with little gain financially. Lengthened in 1873 becoming of 449 gross tons, 283 net with Lbd: 209'2" x 22'6" x 11'5". She was chartered by D Little in 1873 and serviced Brisbane - Maryborough - Mackay and later adding Sydney to her itinery. Advertised as the 'fastest ship in the trade' 14 knots being the quickest there and then, she was seen by shareholders in the rival company, Australasian S N Co as a disguised threat from Illawarra S N Co via D Little to their established trade routes. The fact that a Mr. C J Stevens, director of both Australasian S N Co and the Illawarra S N Co was seen as 'perhaps' working against the ASN Co with inside knowledge, led to the shareholders of ASN Co passing a resolution prohibiting any other shareholder holding shares in another shipping company. This led Mr C J Stevens to resign his post, sell his shares and actually purchase the Kembla outright in February 1874. He placed her on the Newcastle run, with intended direct opposition to ASN Co., and using cut-price fares. Both the ASN Co and the Illawarra S N Co banded together attempting to thwart Steven's efforts and both failed. The Kembla earned 20,000 pounds in 15 months, thus proving the loyalty of local support for a service that worked for them. In need of refitting, suddenly all shipyards of the ASN Co were closed to the Kembla, and so she she steamed to Melbourne for the necessary repairs. Upon this she resumed her Newcastle trade and, in February 1876 C J Stevens formed the Newcastle Steamship Co Ltd., Newcastle and forced the ASN Co out of the Newcastle trade completely. October 1890 sold to E Saber. Since various unknown owners until hulked 1917 and used by the New South Wales Government's Metal Quarries Division as a hulk. Register officially closed in 1934. Ended her days in the ‘disposal area’ off Sydney
WESTERN 363 gross tons. Lbd: 183'4" x 23' x 12'6". Iron steamship built by C Mitchell & Co, Low Walker. Held inverted engine = 100hp. Passenger vessel designed for S G Henty & Co, Melbourne in their trade between Melbourne and the Western districts of Victoria. Sold February 1874 to C J Stevens, Sydney and placed upon the Queensland coastal run in opposition to the ASN fleet. July 1874 owned by D S Mitchell. Tonnage altered to 424 gross & 266 net. August 1877 owned by A McLean & Partners with tonnage decreased to 404 gross & 246 net. Most likely her passenger accomodation was removed as she was converted to a collier. July 1900 owned by S E Laidley. Hulked and registered closed 1910


G S YUILL & Co Ltd Australia
also traded as
AUSTRALIAN ORIENTAL LINE
George Skelton Yuill held position of General Manager of the British owned Orient Line at the Sydney terminus of operations. in 1887 was an active reperesentative of the Adelaide Steamship Company. From 1890 - 1902 was a member on the board of Adelaide Steamship Co. The concern known as G S Yuill & Co Pty Ltd in 1906 seemed to be owners or acting agents for the Corrimal Coal Company where, an intertwined ownership of Southern Coal, as likely part-owned by Adelaide Steamship Co and G S Yuill existed. 1964 AIS took over Southern Coal and all it's coal interests
AUSTRALIAN ORIENTAL LINE
1912-61

Created by G S Yuill & Co, to take over the services of China Navigation Company (J Swire) in Australia
Commenced with Guthrie purchased from Burns Philp & Co, followed by Changsha and Taiyuan. Later ships being Taiping and Changte. Serviced the ports of Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane, Townsville, Cairns, Thursday Island, Manila, Hong Kong. 1961 Company ceased existence with remainder of fleet taken over by China Navigation Company
As
G S YUILL & Co Pty Ltd, Sydney Australia
CORRIMAL
1911-69

1,140 gross tons. 682 net. Lbd 239'0" x 34'8" x 15'5". General cargo vessel built as the Corrimal by Greenock and Grangemouth Dockyard Grangemouth for G S Yuill & Co Ltd Australia. 1926 sold to White Steamship Co Ltd Australia. July 1927 sold to Hammond & Co Australia. November 1927 sold to James Patrick & Co Ltd., Australia. Nov 1942 Requisitioned by Australian Government with James Patrick appointed as managers ongoing since November 1942. Purchased outright by Australian Government December 1944. December 1947 transferred to Australian Shipping Board. Laid up during 1949. Sold 1950 to Bitumen & Oil Refineries (Australia) Ltd., remained laid up. 1951 sold to R W Miller and Co., Australia, extensively refitted at Morts Dock, Sydney into a collier for use on the "60 milers" route. Altered, making two holds from the original four holds. Renamed Ayrfield. 1969 sold for demolition and scrapped
CORRIMAL image as AYRFIELD courtesy R Priest of the Nautical Association of Australia

As
AUSTRALIAN ORIENTAL LINE
Sydney Australia
Ed Ed Ed Ed
GUTHRIE
1884-1914
CHANGSHA
1886-1926
TAIYUAN
1886-1926
GUTHRIE image courtesy State Library New South Wales
CHANGSHA image courtesy State Library VictoriaTAIYUAN images (a639782h & a639784h) courtesy State Library New South Wales. Note far right image shows Orient liner 2 funnel O-class further back
GUTHRIE 2,338 gross tons, 1,494 net. Lbd: 314' x 38'3" x 23'6". Iron steamship built by W Doxford & Sons, Sunderland for the Eastern & Australasian (E & A) Steamship Co Ltd. Compound surface condensing engine producing 340 nominal horsepower. Employed Australia to the far east via Singapore. Acquired 1904 by Burns Philp & Co and employed on the Australia - Java - Singapore run, taking the ports of Thursday Island and Darwin. 1912 sold to G S Yuill & Co Ltd (Australian-Oriental Line). Was chartered back to Burns Philp & Co during 1912 in November. Sold 1913 or 14 to Hong Kong interests, possibly the White Cross Steamship Co Ltd (A. Gallussen) and possibly renamed Helvette. Wrecked 1st November 1914 at Taku bar bound for the China coast
CHANGSHA 2,269 gross tons. Lb" 315'2" x 38'2". Single screw Steamship clipper bow 2 masts rigged for sailpower as required. built at Scotts Greenock, Glasgow for China Navigation Company, London. Brought Chinese migrants to Australia. Sold in 1912 to the Australian Oriental Line (G S Yuill & Co., Sydney). Sold to shipbreakers in 1926
TAIYUAN 2,269 gross tons. Lb" 315'2" x 38'2". Single screw Steamship clipper bow 2 masts rigged for sailpower as required. built at Scotts Greenock, Glasgow for China Navigation Company, London. Sold 1912 to the Australian Oriental Line (G S Yuill & Co., Sydney). Scrapped by Chinese breakers October 1925

Ed Ed Ed
CHANGTE
1925-61
Company Issue
Postcard
TAIPING
1926-61
CHANGTE image (a636785r) courtesy State Library New South Wales
TAIPING image (42817r) seen here at Thursday island 1935 courtesy State Library Queensland
CHANGTE 4,324 gross tons. Lb: 107.4 x 14.3 metres. Steel, single screw passenger/cargo steamship built by Hong Kong & Whampoa Dock Co. Ltd., Kowloon Hong Kong for Australian-Oriental Line. Triple expansion engine making 13 knots. 1939 requisitioned at Sydney by Royal Navy and converted to Naval Stores Issuing Ship. Y1-9. 1946 returned to owner and refurbished, August 1961 scrapped at Hong Kong
TAIPING 4,324 gross tons. Lb: 107.4 x 14.7 metres. Steel, single screw passenger/cargo steamship built by Hong Kong & Whampoa Dock Co. Ltd., Kowloon Hong Kong for Australian-Oriental Line. Triple expansion engine making 13 knots. | 1941 taken over by the Royal Navy, being converted into a victualling stores issue ship. 1947 returned to owner and refurbished. Carried BCOF personal and families back to Australia from Japan 1947 onward. October 1961 scrapped at Hong Kong


T S Rountree, Shipbuilder and Dock owner, Sydney Newcastle Co-Operative Steam Tug Ltd
H Finch may well have been a founding member of this Tug boat concern
Ed Ed Ed Ed Ed
HUNTRESS
1853-72
....................
GOOLWA
1864-1919
LEO
1871-1917
PRINCE ALFRED
1862-1917
.................
HUNTRESS 55.3 tons approx. Lbd: 89'1" x 16'2" x 7'6". Wooden steamship completed October 1853 by Newton & Malcolm, Manning River, NSW for J & A Brown, Newcastle. One deck, single mast cutter equiped with 2 cylinder steam engine of 60 nhp as built by G Russell & Co, Sydney. Some problem caused the vessel to be initially enrolled under the engine builder's name on behalf of J & A Brown. Design of vessel saw American style sponsons full length of ship enabling extensive saloon for passengers. Intended for service between Morpeth and Newcastle in passenger capacity and barge towing duties as practible. Saw very little work on the Hunter River, being diverted for excursionist work between Wiseman's Ferry and Windsor on the Hawkesbury River in 1855. 1856 re-measured as 86 gross tons 54 net, serviced the Cremorne ferry run and following year in June resumed on the Hawkesbury when owned by T S Rountree, shipbuilder and Dock owner, Sydney. Listed for sale, March 1860 owned by T W Fitzgerald. June 1860 owned by the Government of Hawkes Bay Province, New Zealand, registered Napier. She had endured a 21 day voyage to Wellington from Sydney, arriving with a view to converting her into a dredge. 1864 owned by Donald McLean. 1866 owned by G E Reid, registered at Auckland. Since arrival was converted (date unknown) into a lighter. 1867 owned by WIlliam Souter. 1868 re-measured at 75 gross tons when engine removed and converted into a 2 masted (fore & aft) schooner. 1871 owned by J S MacFarlane. 15 March 1872 wrecked at Cape Brett Bay of Islands

GOOLWA 191 gross tons, 116 net. Lbd: 130' x 21'1" x 10'3". Iron hulled tug- paddle steamship built by Palmer Bros at Jarrow-on-Tyne England. Held 2 cylinder steam engine built by J Thompson & Co, Newcastle-On-Tyne. Also rigged as a 2 masted brig, (one mast later removed). ON 48675. Owner recorded as F Levi, registered London, may have been the South Australian connection of Levi's Wharf at Port Adelaide. May 1867 owned by J W Smith & T Hesselton, vessel registered Port Adelaide. August 1870 under sole ownership of T Hesselton, registered Sydney, having arrived 29 July from Adelaide. She was employed mainly as a tug but held certificate to carry 600 excursionists/ferry passengers. Found unsuitable and in January 1874 registered Newcastle NSW under ownership of H Finch & Others. January 1876 owned by Newcastle Co-Operative Steam Tug Co Ltd. June 1878 owned by John Brown of J & A Brown. June 1905 owned by J O'Connor, here it presumed she was demolished or stripped of her fittings. Circa 1919 sank at her moorings, raised and ran aground at a bank near Hexham where traces of her can still be found
LEO 95 gross tons, 21 net. Lbd: 88'3" x 16'9" x 8'9". Iron tug built 1871 by J Payne, Bristol England. Held side lever steam engine of 50 nhp as built by Wingate & Co, Glasgow. Reported at Cape Town South Africa January 1874. Recorded owner January 1876 as R B Wallace, Newcastle NSW. Same month and year recorded owner as Newcastle Co-Operative Steam Tug Co Ltd. June 1878 owned by J Brown of J & A Brown. Always employed in tug duties upon Australian waters with registry finally closed 1917
PRINCE ALFRED145 gross tons, 83 net. Lbd: 100'2" x 21'2" x 10'1". Iron hulled tug/steamship built by Simpson & Co, Poplar London for J Cawood, London. Held 2 cylinder oscillating engine - by builders. ON 45768. Sent to South Africa with a view to selling her. No takers and so 27 September 1864 departed Cape Town for Sydney, arriving 4th December 1864, under canvas, being schooner rigged with two masts. May 1865 owned by J Broomfield, Sydney, & Charles Clark of Newcastle NSW whilst vessel registered at Sydney. September 1867 owned by Henry Rouse and Henry Finch, Newcastle NSW. October 1867 owned by Newcastle Co-Operative Steam Tug Co, Newcastle. June 1878 owned by J Brown. December 1881 owned by A & J Brown. 1917 registered closed as 'broken up'.


John Ritchie, Clarence River, New South Wales Manning River S N Co Ltd, Sydney
Ed Ed Ed Ed Ed
MANNING
1878-1937
SETTLERS FRIEND
1866-1908
YAAMBA
1864-1910
MANNING
1878-1937
DIAMANTINA
1861-83
No images available
MANNING 89 gross tons, 56 net. Lbd: 109'5" X 18'9" X 5'9". Iron paddle steamer 30 horsepower as built by Atlas Works, Darling Harbour Sydney for the Manning River S N Co. August 1881 owned by J Ritchie. March 1882 owned by John See. December 1891 of North Coast S N Co., and used as a drogher. Ws always employed by her owners on the Manning River. Demolished 1937 whilst her remains at a Taree riverbank have been declared an 'Historic Wreck'
SETTLERS FRIEND 50 gross tons, 31 net. Lbd: 84'6" x 13'4" x 5'6". ON52389. Wooden hulled, stern wheel paddle steamship of 12 horsepower and single mast, built by E G Chowne, Grafton for H J Major & Partners, Sydney. April 1867 owned by Clarence & New England S N Co Ltd. 1869 owned by Thomas Bawden, Grafton. January 1878 owned by George Harris, registered Brisbane. March 1879 owned by John Ritchie, Sydney. March 1882 acquired by John See. December 1891 transferred over to North Coast S N Co. Register closed during 1908 as 'abandoned'. Spent most of her NSW career upon the Clarence River
YAAMBA 98 gross tons, 76 net. Lbd: 102' x 20'2" x 6'1". ON49260. Iron hulled stern wheel paddle steamer, 2 masted and schooner rigged built for the Australasian Steam Nav Co, Sydney at their Pyrmont workshops. Held steam engine of 24 horsepower. Designed for service upon the Fitzroy River, Rockhampton. 24 July 1965 struck Eagle Rock in the Fitsroy River and sank. Raised and repaired. 1873 converted to side wheel paddles. September 1877 sold to F O'Brien & Partners, NSW. August 1880 sold to J Ritchie, Clarence River. Later in 1880 owned by John See. December 1891 sold to North Coast S N Co., Sydney. Broken up 1910. Serviced in her career the Fitzroy River and the Northern Rivers of New South Wales
MANNING 89 gross tons, 56 net. Lbd: 109'5" X 18'9" X 5'9". Iron paddle steamer 30 horsepower as built by Atlas Works, Darling Harbour Sydney for the Manning River S N Co. August 1881 owned by J Ritchie. March 1882 owned by John See. December 1891 of North Coast S N Co., and used as a drogher. Ws always employed by her owners on the Manning River. Demolished 1937 whilst her remains at a Taree riverbank have been declared an 'Historic Wreck'
DIAMANTINA 285 gross tons, 239 net. Lbd: 158'1" x 23'6" x 8'7". Iron Paddle steamer, 2 cylinders 120 horsepower, and fitted with passenger capacity. Built by C Mitchell & Co., Low Walker on Tyne for ASN Co., Sydney. Fitted with paddle wheels at Sydney March 15th 1862 upon arrival under sail from England. Intended for the Northern New South Wales rivers' and bar harbour trades and worked those including occassional trips to Queensland when sold March 1870 to Clarence & Richmond Rivers S N Co, Sydney. Sold January 1875 to Manning River S N Co., only to be stranded on the Manning River bar March 31st 1881. Several failed salvage efforts saw her abandoned to underwriters and she was sold to J Booth, who salvaged her and re-registered her as a fully rigged sailing ship. Sold 1883 to Burns Philp & Co., Ltd, sailed to Townsville Queensland and converted into a hulk. Scrapped 1907


H Perdriau, Sydney
Ed Ed Ed Ed Ed
CYGNET
1866-91
ALHAMBRA
1855-88



ALHAMBRA image (66394p) courtesy State Library Queensland
CYGNET 30 gross tons, 16 net. Lbd: 88' x 11'8" x 9'. Paddle Steamship built by G Thompson at Balmain, Sydney for E Manning & T S Mort, registered Sydney. Held 1 high & 1 low pressure cylinder steam engine of 30nhp. July 1867 owned by Parramatta Steam Co, Sydney working in ferry capacity. April 1870 of the Clarence & Richmond Rivers S N Co, Sydney, servicing the northern NSW River ports. 1871 lengthened to 118'3" x 14'5" x 5', tonnage became 57 gross, 36 net and re-engined with a 2 cylinder horizontal condensing engine of 28 horsepower. July 1872 owned by William Marshall who unsuccessfully tried to convert her into a screw propellor steamship. April 1879 owned by H Perdriau Jnr. Register officially closed August 1891 declaring her as 'made into a landing barge'
ALHAMBRA 642 gross tons, 373 net. Lbd: 209'3' x 27'1" x 16'3". Iron screw steamship, 2 cylinders producing 140 horsepower and rigged with 3 masts. Passenger vessel built by Samuel Bros., Millwall London, 1855 for the Peninsula & Oriental Steam Navigation Co; reg. London. December 1862 came under ownership of this concern with her tonnage increased to 766 gross and 497 net. As a passenger vessel, she ran on the Melbourne - New Zealand route, also to Adelaide, and for a while to Suva. Nipper & See acquired her in December 1882, July 1883 saw S Marsden of Sydney take ownership. April 1884 H Perdriau and later in November by A Wheeler Jnr. From about 1883 she became a collier, with her reportedly being under the auspices of the Wallsend Coal Company. She foundered seven miles east of Newcastle, after striking a derelict vessel, possibly the American J T Berry, near Port Stephens, New South Wales, June 30th 1888



TOP of PAGE HOME!


2007-09 ©John E Hoskin/Flotilla-Australia
All Rights Reserved